Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

The Peace That Transcends All Understanding

Philippians 4:7

And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.

RayMcDIf you are from my church or follow me on Facebook – you know that I fell Sunday morning. I was getting out of the shower and my foot – hitting the wet tile – came out from underneath me. I went down in a heap and for a moment thought I had really hurt myself. I fell on the same shoulder I fell on playing basketball a couple of weeks ago (my left shoulder). I have had a hard time lifting my arm all day and will go see the doctor for x-rays on Monday if it doesn’t improve. I must admit – I was scared and yet after a brief prayer – I felt a peace about me. My wife was not there – but God was there and peace came over me.

The elections happened just shy of a week ago and I must be honest with our readers – whichever way the outcome – I would have had unrest. I supported neither candidate – thinking both major candidates (and all others) to be flawed. I have a peace about the election though – because whoever is President – Jesus is still King! The elections didn’t catch God by surprise – God was prepared for our free-will choice.

I’m nearing retirement – somewhere between 4 and 11 years from now – the Lord willing. Retirement is not something I look forward to at this time – but it is something I have been planning for since I was 25 (yes – I starting planning a little early for retirement). I’m concerned about the market where much of my retirement funds reside and I had a long conversation with my financial advisor and long time friend just last week. We plan on a face-to-face conversation in the spring (after a round of golf). I have a peace about retirement though – because my God owns the cattle on a thousand hills (Psalm 50:10) – and I trust God further than my IRA.

I was speaking last week to two godly men – Dave & Bob. Both are facing – baring a God act – their last days (maybe months). Both are facing these days with the faith that only a person who has trusts beyond themselves can. They have a peace that transcends all understanding. They (and their brides) have a faith in the One and only God.

Here’s today’s passage in partial context. Philippians 4:4–9 – 4 Rejoice in the Lord always. I will say it again: Rejoice! Let your gentleness be evident to all. The Lord is near. 6 Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. 7 And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus. 8 Finally, brothers and sisters, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things. 9 Whatever you have learned or received or heard from me, or seen in me—put it into practice. And the God of peace will be with you.

If you are devastated by the elections – I will not simply say take heart – but I will say that God has this dear readers. God can bring us peace – no matter how bad it might be for each of us. No matter what the issue we are facing – life and death as my friends Bob & Dave – or the election – God has this and God is greater than our troubles.

My prayer is that the peace that transcends all understanding will shower upon us all in our good and in our not so good time. Be blessed.

Just something for us to think about today as we go on our way.

P.S. – Our church is going to fast between breakfast and supper on Mondays. This week we are being called to pray for Bob & Dave & Bobbi.

November 14, 2016 - Posted by | Build, Church, Community, Daily Devotion, Daily Prayer, Discipleship, Encouragement, Faith Journey, Fast, From the Pastor, Leadership, Outreach, Personal, Theology | , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

