Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

Happy Thanksgiving 2016

Romans 8:32

He who did not spare his own Son, but gave him up for us all — how will he not also, along with him, graciously give us all things?

RayMcDThanksgiving comes once a year – as does Christmas – Easter – Pentecost – etc. Yet we don’t have to limit our thankfulness to one day – do we? If your family is like mine – when we gather to give thanks over the bounty on Thanksgiving – we pause to give thanks for something specific – everyone at the table. It is a touching time – and watching our family age before our eyes – year after year – brings a nostalgic note too. Listening to what the girls (and soon the grandchildren) are thankful for always touches my heart.

I’m the crier in the family. An example was when I totally lost it at my wife’s 50th birthday party some years ago. I’m not sure why – other than we were honoring her for the awesome woman of God she has always been. Tears will flow for most any reason from my eyes. With the holidays coming I will shed tears when I watch It’s a Wonderful Life for the 200th time – and even while watching Charlie Brown Christmas – tears will flow.

So it should come as no surprise that I shed tears over passages like this one when I read it. Romans 8:32 – He who did not spare his own Son, but gave him up for us all – how will he not also, along with him, graciously give us all things?

thanksgiving3

This picture as nothing to do with the post today, I just thought it was cute.

As my children age before my eyes and now the grandchildren – I often reflect on the love it took for the Father to offer up HIS ONLY SON for my sins. I often say how much I love the folks at First Church. I also love the folks from Mt. Zion and from other places I have lived and served. Having stated that – I must admit – I wouldn’t offer up any of my three daughters or granddaughters for any of you. My love for them exceeds my love for you or anyone else. Yet the Father’s love was so great that He offered up HIS ONLY SON for me. That brings a tear to my eyes – knowing that God loves me – me – the sinner that I am – with such a great love.

The first thing I am thankful for today is my salvation – a free gift from a loving God – given to a sinful me. I also thank God for my wife and three daughters and my five granddaughters (and their husbands and fathers).

What are you thankful for today? Go to Facebook and leave a note about what you are thankful for today. You can also simply use this blog post and leave what you are thankful for as a reply today! I wonder what you are thankful for today?

He did not spare HIS ONLY SON the passage says – and if He loves us that much – would He withhold any blessing from us? God wants to bless our socks off folks. Most of the time – all He asks is that we love Him back – live our lives for Him – because we have been bought and paid for by the shed blood of HIS ONLY SON. Give thanks today for our God who loves us so much.

Just something for us to think about today as you go on your way.

November 24, 2016 - Posted by | Daily Devotion | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

