Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

We Gotta Tell Somebody About Jesus!

2 Corinthians 5:6-8

6 Therefore we are always confident and know that as long as we are at home in the body we are away from the Lord. 7 We live by faith, not by sight. 8 We are confident, I say, and would prefer to be away from the body and at home with the Lord.

RayMcDI wonder how many of us have faced the death of a friend or a family member recently. Most of us probably have – at some point or the other! The last few days – in the life of our church family – we have experienced a number of deaths. Two older women in the church – a not so old key leader in the church – the sudden passing of a brother of two active members – the death of a member’s grandmother. It seemed like time and again I was notifying the congregation of prayer concerns over the last week.

I was talking to some people recently about our evangelistic approach to reach everyone before they die – because after they die there is no opportunity to reach them. We must tell the story of Christ in such a way as to draw others to Him before they die.

As a pastor I have watched way too many people die – some while I was with them – others shortly after I visited with them. I have been blessed in many of those experiences to share Jesus with them. At times – on their deathbeds – they have received Jesus. At times – I’m not sure if they knew Jesus or not. Those were painful moments. I never want to face the knowledge that I had a chance to share Jesus with someone – and didn’t – and they passed. We should always be prepared to share our love for Jesus.

Therefore we are always confident and know that as long as we are at home in the body we are away from the Lord. We live by faith, not by sight. We are confident, I say, and would prefer to be away from the body and at home with the Lord.

MyJordanThe reason I originally write this devotional post several years ago was because I had just lost a dear friend. My dog Jordan – in the picture with this article – had been very sick for over a month. I took him to the vet and was told he was dying. I couldn’t leave him at that time – hoping instead to have some more time to say goodbye. I know we have been there with friends and family – wanting more time to say goodbye. At times we get it – at times we don’t.

Jordan did respond some – and we had a few extra weeks with him. Even the Saturday before his passing – when I worked most of the day in the yard – Jordan was almost his old self – following me everywhere I went in the yard. He was by my side for most of the day. I thank God for that Saturday to remember.

I was preparing for a meeting that next Tuesday night and I got a call from home that he wasn’t doing very well. Later – during the meeting – I was called home because he was in a great deal of discomfort. My son Justin and I took him to the emergency vet hospital in Annapolis. The doctor agreed that he was very near death and in discomfort. I held him and petted him while the doctor administered the medication that would relieve his pain and discomfort. He lowered his head and fell asleep. I cried – my friend was gone.

Is there someone in your life with whom you need to share Jesus? Jordan’s death reminded me that life is short – here one moment and gone the next. We have experienced that shortness this week as a church family. We need to share Jesus with everyone – hold back nothing – because we don’t know the day or the hour. Unlike our pets – eternity is at stake for those who do not know Jesus.  We must share with them what Jesus has done in our lives.

Just something for us to think about today as you go on your way.

P.S. – If this didn’t mean anything to you – thanks for reading anyway – it meant a lot to me!

November 25, 2016 - Posted by | Build, Church, Community, Daily Devotion, Discipleship, Encouragement, Evangelism, Faith Journey, Family, From the Pastor, Leadership, Outreach, Personal, Prayer, Theology | , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

