Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

Animals vs. The Yet Unborn Babies

Psalm 139:13-16

13 For you created my inmost being; you knit me together in my mother’s womb. 14 I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful, I know that full well. 15 My frame was not hidden from you when I was made in the secret place, when I was woven together in the depths of the earth. 16 Your eyes saw my unformed body; all the days ordained for me were written in your book before one of them came to be.

RayMcDNews often comes in waves and every once in awhile articles written in the newspaper catch my eye and causes me to think. This was the case a number of years ago as I was reading with interest three articles of a similar tone.

The first story that caught my eye was the on-going saga surrounding Michael Vick – the starting quarterback of the Atlanta Falcons football team of the NFL (back in the early 2000’s). Mr. Vick has been indicted for having dog fights on his property. He was barred from his team’s camp. Eventually there were big fines – jail time – and other consequences that he faced when found guilty. It was appalling that anyone would make a sport out of dogs fighting and find enjoyment in two animals tearing each other apart. Personal satisfaction and entertainment drive us to do some terrible things in this society.

Another story I found was about a disturbed man who was angry with his neighbor. Two days in a row he came to his neighbor’s home and each day he stomped a cat to death. This is a horrific act and this man faced years of incarceration for such an evil act with psychological care as well.
On another day someone was charged with animal cruelty because they left some rabbits alone at home for an extended period and they starved to death. These animals were being kept as food for snakes the man kept. But instead of feeding them to the snakes they starved to death and for this – the man faced a great fine and jail time for cruelty to animals.

I believe that animals should be protected and there should be severe penalties for this sort of mistreatment of animals. Laws should exist to protect the innocent – those who cannot help themselves – in these cases – animals. I’m glad we live in a society that cares for animals.

Unfortunately – we live in a confused society where some people do not want to take responsibility for their actions and simply want to please themselves. It is very confusing to me that we live in a society which protects animals with fines and jail time but allows thousands upon millions of babies to be killed each year in various stages of human development through abortion. Why would we make laws and issue fines for people who mistreat animals yet allow people to kill unborn yet often viable children? I believe that human lives – even the yet to be born children – are more valuable than animal life and we should protect the innocent yet to be born with more fervor than we do the helpless animals.

Please hear me when I say I know this is an emotional and sometimes complicated subject. Rape – incest – teen pregnancies – and other factors can create a no win situation. I read somewhere that rape and incest accounts for only 2 % of all abortions though. In many cases abortion is being seen as removing an unwanted appendage or tissue rather than what it really is – the taking of life.

Each time abortion is the choice of the adult(s) involved – the life of the unborn – the helpless baby – is lost. I wonder at times how many significant contributions to society have been swept away in abortions. Often the adults involved have a choice prior to the abortion. They can abstain from sexual activity or use contraceptives. The unborn child has no choice.

I believe in the sanctity of life and that life begins at conception if not before. We are not merely creatures of our sinful human desires but of a God with a plan for our lives. God had a plan for and knew Jeremiah before he was in his mother’s womb. Jeremiah 1:4-5The word of the LORD came to me, saying, 5 “Before I formed you in the womb I knew you, before you were born I set you apart; I appointed you as a prophet to the nations.” God is creating our inmost being, our spirit, even as we are developing physically in our mother’s womb. Psalms 139:13-1413 For you created my inmost being; you knit me together in my mother’s womb. 14 I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful, I know that full well.

As I open this subject to debate – I also acknowledge that as a church body – we cannot merely be against abortion – but as we have in the past and even more in the future – support adoption – agencies like Bethany Christian Services (a crisis pregnancy counseling center and Christian adoption agency) – single mothers in our church and community – and more. We have to remind ourselves that abstaining from sexual activity outside of marriage is not just an old time value. It is a Godly value that is meant not only to protect the gift of sexuality for one partner for life but to protect us from issues like the one we are discussing.

Using abortion as a form of birth control devalues human life and the intrinsic value of the persons involved. As a pastor for nearly 40 years I know the pain that is caused post abortion to the women and men involved. I also know there is no such thing as an unwanted child after watching my wife and others work with families who have opened their hearts to any child – in any condition. Unwanted or unexpected or even crisis pregnancies maybe – but that unborn child is loved by someone and if the birth mom is unable to care for the child – someone will!

Back to my original thought of confusion. In a society that has laws to protect animals from cruelty and abuse – why not more laws to protect the most helpless of humans – the yet to be born children – of intrinsically more worth than any animal? Instead we have laws that allow for their death.

Just something for us to think about today as we go on our way.

December 9, 2016 - Posted by | Advent Thought, Build, Church, Community, Daily Devotion, Discipleship, Encouragement, Faith Journey, Family, From the Pastor, Leadership, Marriage, Outreach, Personal, Prayer, Theology | , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

