Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

Christmas Praises 10

Luke 2:13-14

13 Suddenly a great company of the heavenly host appeared with the angel, praising God and saying, 14 “Glory to God in the highest heaven, and on earth peace to those on whom his favor rests.”

Colored christmas glass balls isolated on white backgroundDuring the month of December I have asked some members and friends of our church to write a paragraph or so describing some of the things that bring them joy this Christmas season in their relationship with Jesus and First Church? They were asked where they see Jesus in their church family? They were asked what draws them to First Church. The reason for this is to stir up some joy and excitement this Christmas Season. I told them I would share their thoughts anonymously – but I am keeping their e-mails for sure. I will try to post a comment a day for December so obviously I need 31 comments. The posts will go up around noon each day.

When I moved to America from England I was 8 months pregnant and we had a three-year-old. It was very important to me to find a place (like our church in England ) where my three-year-old would feel loved, supported and would learn about Jesus so that all of the massive changes in his life wouldn’t feel so scary. There were months when we had no church home or church family those were very hard months for us. When I visited FUMCL I was impressed by the love and generosity of the child care workers and how vibrantly they would share the love of Jesus with my son. What has been a blessing beyond what I could have imagined has been the support that my Sunday school class has given me with my now 18 month old. Now both of my boys get excited for “church day.”

I praise the Lord for the testimony. I hope that it brings those who read it great joy. Merry Christmas to one and all.

December 10, 2016 - Posted by | Build, Christmas, Church, Community, Encouragement, Faith Journey, Family, Outreach, Personal | , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

