Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

Christmas Praises 11

1 Timothy 1:15-17

Here is a trustworthy saying that deserves full acceptance: Christ Jesus came into the world to save sinners—of whom I am the worst. But for that very reason I was shown mercy so that in me, the worst of sinners, Christ Jesus might display his immense patience as an example for those who would believe in him and receive eternal life. Now to the King eternal, immortal, invisible, the only God, be honor and glory for ever and ever. Amen.

Christmas at Holker Hall 2009During the month of December I have asked some members and friends of our church to write a paragraph or so describing some of the things that bring them joy this Christmas season in their relationship with Jesus and First Church? They were asked where they see Jesus in their church family? They were asked what draws them to First Church. The reason for this is to stir up some joy and excitement this Christmas Season. I told them I would share their thoughts anonymously – but I am keeping their e-mails for sure. I will try to post a comment a day for December so obviously I need 31 comments. The posts will go up around noon each day.

Christmas time is the best time. I love the music and the TV specials. I love spending time with family. The star at the top of our tree always reminds me of the Christ Child.

Christmas at First Church is always special to me. I love being part of the family at First Church. We have a heart for others. Everyone is welcome. Our diversity is such a God thing to me. We come from so many different places, but at First Church we are all one big family. We help others all year-round at First Church but especially at Christmas time. I look forward to this time of the year. I love my church family since my family is so far away.

I love the special services we have, especially the 11 pm Christmas Eve service. The blend of carols, holy communion, and the singing of Silent Night while lighting candles always brings a warm feeling to me. It would not be Christmas for me if I couldn’t attend that service.

I see Jesus in the faces of others at First Church and in our hearts to serve. I’m so glad to have found this church.

I praise the Lord for the testimony. I hope that it brings those who read it great joy. Merry Christmas to one and all.

December 11, 2016 - Posted by | Build, Christmas, Church, Community, Discipleship, Encouragement, Faith Journey, Family, Leadership, Missions, Outreach, Personal | , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

