Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

Jesus Said – Come To Me

Matthew 11:28

Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.

RayMcDOk – Christmas is coming – ready or not. I mentioned yesterday in the sermon – I already opened my Christmas present from my wife. I love it and we are enjoying it already. She hasn’t opened her gift from me yet. We’ll probably have to install if while she is away after Christmas visiting our daughter.

Have you gotten your shopping done yet? It is easier if you don’t put so much pressure on yourself to buy too much. Remember – Christmas is not about how many gifts you get or give – but about Jesus. It is His birthday celebration – not ours. I urge people every year to not go into debt for Christmas – but to keep it simple and within your means.

Even with Christmas just around the corner – we are First Church have had a rough month or so. We had a number of deaths and a number of accidents (a number of hand injuries and falls). One of our oldest members is it he hospital fighting for his life. Another older member had a fall at home and is home healing. Our Administrative Board chair was among the deaths we have experienced. It has been a difficult time.

Today’s passage was just what I needed. Jesus tells us to come to me all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Weary is a good word. I’ve been trying to get plenty of sleep during this rough season but the emotional burden of so many emergencies has worn me down. Others feel the burden too. We’re weary and need refueling (and it is too cold for me to squeeze in a round of golf at my favorite course.) The refueling we seek comes from the Lord – not from sleep. It comes from deepening our time with Jesus – even if we walk with Him daily – we need to be yoked with Him in a tighter bond.

Here’s today’s scripture in partial context. Matthew 11:25–30 – 25 At that time Jesus said, “I praise you, Father, Lord of heaven and earth, because you have hidden these things from the wise and learned, and revealed them to little children. 26 Yes, Father, for this is what you were pleased to do. 27 “All things have been committed to me by my Father. No one knows the Son except the Father, and no one knows the Father except the Son and those to whom the Son chooses to reveal him. 28 “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. 29 Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. 30 For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.”

As God the Father was being revealed in God the Son – Jesus urged His disciples to lean on Him. We are to pair ourselves (wearing a yoke) with Him – He will guide us (like an older wiser ox leads a younger inexperienced ox when they are paired or yoked together). The young – often immature ox – would be paired (yoked) with a stronger – wiser ox – and would be trained up. As we face the tough times of life – let us continue to be linked together with Jesus.

Just something for us to think about today as we go on our way.

P.S. – As I was praying  and planning this past week – preparing for the message yesterday – I had a different ending planned. But putting it in the hands of God – as I always try to do – I left my notes with several pages left and took us through the believer’s prayer and over 30 people put their faith in Jesus in our two Sunday services. What a Christmas gift. What an uplift during these trying times. Thank you Jesus!!

December 12, 2016 - Posted by | Advent Thought, Build, Christmas, Church, Community, Daily Devotion, Discipleship, Encouragement, Evangelism, Faith Journey, From the Pastor, Leadership, Outreach, Personal, Sermons, Theology | , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

