Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

Christmas Praises 16

Luke 2:10

And the angel said to them, “Fear not, for behold, I bring you good news of great joy that will be for all the people.

christmas-16During the month of December I have asked some members and friends of our church to write a paragraph or so describing some of the things that bring them joy this Christmas season in their relationship with Jesus and First Church? They were asked where they see Jesus in their church family? They were asked what draws them to First Church. The reason for this is to stir up some joy and excitement this Christmas Season. I told them I would share their thoughts anonymously – but I am keeping their e-mails for sure. I will try to post a comment a day for December so obviously I need 31 comments. The posts will go up around noon each day.

Christmas to me is the time to hope for a new beginning and a time of renewal which is what brings much joy to me. It is the time when God reminds all of His great love for us and how powerful it was that He sent his only son to remind us how much He gave to humanity: The gift of giving. First Church has become home to me over the last two years since I recently moved here from far away. No matter what happens outside of church, the congregation has always felt welcoming and inviting to me. Although it doesn’t take a Christmas for us to celebrate Jesus, He continues to thrive in our church family. We see Him every Sunday when we hear the pastor’s sermons, the worship team performing music, the technicians who operate the board, the janitor who keeps the place clean, and the administration. Also, we see it when the volunteers who work tirelessly to carry out God’s plans through missions and those are gifts we sometimes may overlook. It is a Christmas miracle in itself every Sunday because every single person who attends First United Methodist church could be anywhere in the world at that moment, but still find the time to worship in the most hectic of times. As long as we continue to give back in someway to Christ and others, that is what the Christmas spirit is all about. I pray that those who read this can find the great joy that I do. Hope everyone has a safe and merry Christmas!

I praise the Lord for the testimony. I hope that it brings those who read it great joy. Merry Christmas to one and all.

December 16, 2016 - Posted by | Build, Christmas, Church, Community, Encouragement, Faith Journey, Family, Missions, Outreach, Personal | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

