Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

Are Our Sins Covered?

Psalm 32:1

Blessed is the one whose transgressions are forgiven, whose sins are covered.

RayMcDOk – Christmas is coming – ready or not. Have you finished your shopping? How about your wrapping? There are only a few days to go till Christmas.

My children often ask me what they can get me for Christmas. As I have often written before – my answer is always – children who love their father.

Can you remember your favorite gift of all time? I remember my first new bike – it was red and I road it till late teens. I remember putting a banana seat on it (now that is dating me) and monkey handlebars. We use to put old baseball cards in the spokes to sound like we had engines on our bikes. When I delivered papers I had baskets all around.

Can you remember your favorite gift of all time? I remember the year I got my first shotgun for Christmas – it was a .410 (small gauge). My brother-in-law borrowed it one time and lost it in the river. He gave me money for it and I bought my first 12-gauge shotgun (which I still have). My B-I-L finally found the .410 and I believe he still has it.

Can you remember your favorite gift of all time? Of course the greatest gift at Christmas isn’t something we buy or is bought for us with money. The greatest gift is the gift of Jesus Christ. He came as the babe in the manger and grew to be the One who would give His life for the sins of the whole world.

Today’s passage reads – Blessed is the one whose transgressions are forgiven, whose sins are covered. Psalm 32:1 We are so blessed to be afforded the opportunity to make things right with God – through Christ’s life – death – and resurrection. What a great gift – the greatest gift at Christmas or anytime.

Have we all received this great gift? Christ’s death paid for our sins – but we all need to accept this gift for ourselves. It is wrapped and under the tree this year for you if you haven’t received Jesus as your personal Lord and Savior yet. Please do not pass another Christmas – or another day – without opening the free gift offered for you – for me – for us – today.

Are our sins covered? The answer is they have been paid for by Christ but they are not covered unless we have Jesus as our personal Lord and Savior!

Just something for us to think about today as we go on our way.

December 19, 2016 - Posted by | Advent Thought, Build, Christmas, Community, Daily Devotion, Encouragement, Evangelism, Faith Journey, Family, From the Pastor, Leadership, Outreach, Personal, Theology | , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

