Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

Christmas Praises 24

Luke 1:31-33

…And behold, you will conceive in your womb and bear a son, and you shall call his name Jesus. He will be great and will be called the Son of the Most High. And the Lord God will give to him the throne of his father David, and he will reign over the house of Jacob forever, and of his kingdom there will be no end.

christmas-2During the month of December I have asked some members and friends of our church to write a paragraph or so describing some of the things that bring them joy this Christmas season in their relationship with Jesus and First Church? They were asked where they see Jesus in their church family? They were asked what draws them to First Church. The reason for this is to stir up some joy and excitement this Christmas Season. I told them I would share their thoughts anonymously – but I am keeping their e-mails for sure. I will try to post a comment a day for December so obviously I need 31 comments. The posts will go up around noon each day.

One of the most amazing things about our church is the feeling of family. We are not a large church, more like a medium size church, and because of that we can really get to know each other. I haven’t been attending for generations like some of our members but I have attended long enough to be considered by some as part of the old guard. I must admit that I have felt at home from the first Sunday I attended, welcomed by almost everyone. It is this friendly and welcoming spirit that drew me back each week when I first started attending and it is what I try to show to newer people now. I see Jesus in this friendly church. For those of us who do not have generations of family living near each other, this church has become my family. I love that our pastor and leaders believe in the Bible and are not afraid in this day and age to preach it and teach it. I love that we have a staff and a group of people that care for our facility and that it almost always looks sharp and clean. I love our outreach ministries and our willingness, most of us, to do new things. But what I love the most is the family feel. I hope we never lose that feeling. Merry Christmas my family.

I praise the Lord for the testimony. I hope that it brings those who read it great joy. Merry Christmas to one and all.

December 24, 2016 - Posted by | Build, Christmas, Church, Community, Encouragement, Faith Journey, Family, Outreach, Personal | , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

