Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

Be A Signet Ring For God

Haggai 2:23

“‘On that day,’ declares the Lord Almighty, ‘I will take you, my servant Zerubbabel son of Shealtiel,’ declares the Lord, ‘and I will make you like my signet ring, for I have chosen you,’ declares the Lord Almighty.”

RayMcDMy dad gave my brother and I family rings years ago. He had one for many years and he found a couple that looked like his and gave them to us. They are gold rings with a black stone in the middle with a small diamond in the middle of the black stone (the stone is onyx I think). I love wearing my ring. It reminds me of my father.

We call them our family rings and we wear them with pride – my brother and I. When I wear my ring – I remember my dad. Simply looking at it warms my heart. I have my dad’s ring now after his death and I wear it on special occasions. It looks like a Mason’s ring – sort of – and Masons have often confused my family ring on first glance with a Mason’s ring.

Dear readers – do you have a family ring or a family crest or something that represents your kin and your heritage? Were there family parties or reunions over the holidays that have become customs that remind you of family? Are there times with family through the year that reminds us of our heritage?

People and events can become so significant to us that they become milestones or markers in our lives. In today’s passage – the Lord’s servant – the governor of Judah – is declared by God – His signet ring – a representation and remembrance of God.

Here’s today’s passage in partial context. Haggai 2:20–23 – 20 The word of the Lord came to Haggai a second time on the twenty-fourth day of the month: 21 “Tell Zerubbabel governor of Judah that I am going to shake the heavens and the earth. 22 I will overturn royal thrones and shatter the power of the foreign kingdoms. I will overthrow chariots and their drivers; horses and their riders will fall, each by the sword of his brother. 23 “ ‘On that day,’ declares the Lord Almighty, ‘I will take you, my servant Zerubbabel son of Shealtiel,’ declares the Lord, ‘and I will make you like my signet ring, for I have chosen you,’ declares the Lord Almighty.”

As the New Year approaches over the weekend – let us decide today to be signet rings for God! Let us live our lives in ways that will represent and remind people of God. Let us – by the grace of God – so live that others will see Jesus in us. Matthew 5:16 – In the same way, let your light shine before others, that they may see your good deeds and glorify your Father in heaven.

This is my last devotional post for 2016. I will return in the New Year – on January 2 – 2017 – with a new post. Thank you for following my posts. It is a blessing to see the number of readers each day. My prayer for all of our readers is that we will have a happy and healthy New Year – serving our Lord. I miss my dad and I know many of our readers miss a parent or child or significant other and my heart goes out to you as you end 2016 and enter into 2017.

Just something for us to think about today as we go on our way.

P.S. – A dear friend of mine is having surgery today – please keep her in your prayers.

December 30, 2016 - Posted by | Build, Church, Community, Daily Devotion, Discipleship, Encouragement, Evangelism, Faith Journey, From the Pastor, Leadership, Outreach, Personal, Theology | , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

