Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

If My People

2 Chronicles 7:14

if my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then I will hear from heaven, and I will forgive their sin and will heal their land.

RayMcDI spent part of yesterday listening to the confirmation hearings for Senator Jeff Sessions. He is the President-elect’s candidate to be our next Attorney General. He fielded questions from all over the room. There were protestors inside and outside of the room and building where the hearings were taking place. I even saw on Facebook some of my colleagues who were protesting at the hearings.

You could tell by the questions which persons were for Senator Sessions and which were not. The hearings will be long and at times boring. The political scene in America is very adversarial these days. Maybe it has always been that way. I recently watched a historical piece on TV – it was during the days when the person running for the President of the United States that got the most votes made President and the next highest total became the Vice President. It was soon changed because it became evident that the parties couldn’t work well together.

Today the two party system isn’t working any better. People tend to take political sides rather than support the persons elected. I’ve seen it in several of the last Presidents elected. There is always someone who has something against the person elected – if they are from the other ideology.

I posted the following on Facebook this week and thought it might go well here.

I try to not be political – but my Facebook feed is filled with it everyday. To the left and to the right and to all of those in between – please read this definition for “Tolerance – the ability or willingness to tolerate something, in particular the existence of opinions or behavior that one does not necessarily agree with.” As one who didn’t vote for either main candidate for President in 2016 – I was prepared to pray for whomever won. I found faults and strengths in both candidates but couldn’t bring myself to vote for either. I will pray for our outgoing President as I have since his election 8 years ago – even though I didn’t always agree with him. I will pray for the President-elect for his 4 or 8 years in office – even as I have questions about how he will lead. Overall – I am praying for our country that we will grow stronger together rather than weaker apart. Who will join me?

It seems that many of my Facebook friends support this statement – but some do not. Some believe that the President-elect for example is unfit to be President. Although they are more that welcome to have their view – he is going to be our next President. We should be praying for him and if we think he has some rough edges (to put it mildly) – we should be praying for God to smooth those edges so that he can govern well.

Paul wrote to Christians during a difficult time when the rulers were ruthless and evil at times. These were not God fearing rulers or rulers that the people voted for either. Romans 13:1–5 – 1 Let everyone be subject to the governing authorities, for there is no authority except that which God has established. The authorities that exist have been established by God. Consequently, whoever rebels against the authority is rebelling against what God has instituted, and those who do so will bring judgment on themselves. 3 For rulers hold no terror for those who do right, but for those who do wrong. Do you want to be free from fear of the one in authority? Then do what is right and you will be commended. 4 For the one in authority is God’s servant for your good. But if you do wrong, be afraid, for rulers do not bear the sword for no reason. They are God’s servants, agents of wrath to bring punishment on the wrongdoer. 5 Therefore, it is necessary to submit to the authorities, not only because of possible punishment but also as a matter of conscience.

We don’t pray enough (IMHO). We do not turn to God enough (again IMHO). Even among my colleagues – and sisters and brothers of faith – we have a hard time agreeing what God would do – maybe – because we are trying to interpret God’s will through our own lenses.

Here’s today’s passage – let’s read it again. 2 Chronicles 7:14 – if my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then I will hear from heaven, and I will forgive their sin and will heal their land.

If My People God says – if they would just humble themselves and pray and seek My face – God says – and if they turn from their wicked ways – their sin – God says He will heal our land. How much do we want a healed land? Enough to put aside our will and yield to His will?

Just something for us to think about today as we go on our way.

January 11, 2017 - Posted by | Build, Church, Community, Daily Devotion, Discipleship, Encouragement, Evangelism, Faith Journey, Family, Outreach, Personal, Prayer, Theology | , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

