Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

God Works For Good

Romans 8:28

And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose.

RayMcDAt times things seem to stack up against us. I remember when I was much younger and dating – I had two long-term girlfriends – one for a year and one for two years. When the relationships ended – I remember thinking my life is coming to an end and why would God allow such pain in my life – among other things. It was hard to see beyond the pain of the breakup. It was hard to see beyond the moment. Yet somehow God helped me push forward.

At times things seem to stack up against us. I remember when I was in college changing my major more times than I wished – never feeling comfortable with what I chose. At times I was lost – yet I still pushed forward. God helped me stay focused.

At times things seem to stack up against us. Four years ago my father – whom I thought was the greatest man in the world – passed. A year or two earlier my mother fell into dementia and we lost her – mentally – too. She is still with us physically but we haven’t had her for nearly six years now. Losing my father and mother has been harder than I expected. I fight negative feelings more often than I thought I would at losing them. God keeps me going.

I cling to today’s passage often. Here it is again – Romans 8:28 – And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose.

God can carry us through the most difficult times. I’m not suggesting that the things I’ve mentioned in the post are major issues. They are typical life for many and first world issues – but they are some of the issues I face and I know others do as well.

When I thought I might never have a life partner – a wife to share life with and grow old with and have children – God brought my wife along – and this year we will celebrate 37 years of marriage and we were just blessed with our fifth grandchild.

When I thought I might never figure out what I would be in life – as I was struggling with a major – between my junior and senior year in college – God made it clean that I was to go into full-time ordained ministry. This year I will enter my 41st year in ministry.

When I thought I might never get over the death of my dad and the loss of my mom as well (mentally) – God has given me moments when I still feel very close to the both of them.

I cling to today’s passage often. Here it is again – Romans 8:28 – And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose.

In my life I have faced many ups and downs – many seasons of distress and many seasons of joy. Through them all I have tried to cling to this passage and others like it. God is at work in the lives of His children and will bring good out of the circumstances of life.

Just something for us to think about today as we go on our way.

January 12, 2017 - Posted by | Build, Church, Community, Daily Devotion, Discipleship, Encouragement, Faith Journey, Family, From the Pastor, Leadership, Outreach, Personal, Theology | , , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

