Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

Nothing Can Be Hidden From God

Hebrews 4:13

Nothing in all creation is hidden from God’s sight. Everything is uncovered and laid bare before the eyes of him to whom we must give account.

RayMcDI was talking on the phone the other evening – as I traveled home from the church – with my daughter – the one who is a police officer. In the short time we were talking – I noticed several vehicles running red lights. I told her I could earn my salary with tickets if I was an officer. She laughed.

Just my luck – I ran a red light last year. I thought I could get through on yellow – and it just happened to have a camera (and I didn’t make it). Well $75 later I learned to not run yellow lights. We need cameras on more lights. If more people were hit with a $75 ticket – we might see less red light infractions.

If your parents were like mine – they always seemed to know what was going on in the home (and around the home). I’m not sure if we had a squealer (my brother or sister) or if they just had a sense about things. It seemed like I could never get away with anything. Nothing seemed to be hidden from them.

In today’s passage we read that nothing can be hidden from God. Here is today’s passage in partial context. Hebrews 4:12–13 – 12 For the word of God is alive and active. Sharper than any double-edged sword, it penetrates even to dividing soul and spirit, joints and marrow; it judges the thoughts and attitudes of the heart. 13 Nothing in all creation is hidden from God’s sight. Everything is uncovered and laid bare before the eyes of him to whom we must give account.

We cannot hide anything from God. God sees all.

Psalm 147:5 – Great is our Lord and mighty in power; his understanding has no limit.

Job 28:24 – for he views the ends of the earth and sees everything under the heavens.

Matthew 10:30 – And even the very hairs of your head are all numbered.

Psalm 139:4 – Before a word is on my tongue you, Lord, know it completely.

Nothing can be hidden from God – so why do we think we can sin and get away with it? Oh – we might get away with it on earth – hiding our sins from each other – but we will be held accountable before God. God knows our heart and God knows our actions. God knows our attitudes and our unspoken words.

Nothing can be hidden from God – so we should stop trying to fool ourselves. We should live as if Jesus were walking beside us all day long – because He is.

Just something for us to think about today as we go on our way.

January 13, 2017 - Posted by | Build, Community, Daily Devotion, Discipleship, Encouragement, Evangelism, Faith Journey, Family, From the Pastor, Leadership, Outreach, Personal, Theology | , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

