Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

We Are Blessed Because Our Sins Are Covered

Psalm 32:1

Blessed is the one whose transgressions are forgiven, whose sins are covered.

RayMcDI was going through the service lane at Chick-fil-A the other day and the young person in the window said the person ahead of me had paid for my order. I waved at them to say thank you and promptly paid for the order behind me. Has this ever happened to you? Have you ever paid it forward? It is a nice feeling to give – especially when you know there is no way of ever getting a thank you.

A mission team from our church has been doing some basic repairs to a senior’s home. They went for the second time this past Saturday. They may have one more trip to finish what they want to accomplish. Serving others – especially when you don’t expect anything in return – is a good feeling. I commend those in our church that give of themselves and their time to serve others.

I don’t play the lottery – but a friend of mine said that was his retirement plan – hitting it big. I think he was teasing – but wouldn’t it be nice to have a windfall of money to cover a load of bills?

Today’s passage talks about how blessed we are to have our sins covered. Here’s today’s passage in partial context. Psalm 32:1–5 – Blessed is the one whose transgressions are forgiven, whose sins are covered. 2 Blessed is the one whose sin the Lord does not count against them and in whose spirit is no deceit. 3 When I kept silent, my bones wasted away through my groaning all day long. For day and night your hand was heavy on me; my strength was sapped as in the heat of summer. 5 Then I acknowledged my sin to you and did not cover up my iniquity. I said, “I will confess my transgressions to the Lord.” And you forgave the guilt of my sin.

It would be nice to have your Chick-fil-A order paid. It would be nice to help someone else by paying for their order. It would be a blessing to help someone with their needs. It would be nice to have some extra money to pay our bills. But – it is so much better to have our sins covered.

Acts 16:30-31 – 30 He then brought them out and asked, “Sirs, what must I do to be saved?” 31 They replied, “Believe in the Lord Jesus, and you will be saved—you and your household.”

Just something for us to think about today as we go on our way.

January 16, 2017 - Posted by | Build, Church, Community, Daily Devotion, Discipleship, Encouragement, Faith Journey, From the Pastor, Leadership, Missions, Personal, Theology | , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

