Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

Look Out For Others

1 Corinthians 10:24

No one should seek their own good, but the good of others.

RayMcDI know I use sports a lot – and if you are not into sports – you might be lost at times. Sorry – that is who I am and how I relate. I try to use non-sport analogies when I can but the early Biblical writers used sports so I figure it is OK.

In team sports – the traditional statement is – there is no I in team. In other words – we’re a team and the team goals and the team success is more important than individual goals or success. Teams that work together often beat teams with a super star or two because they get everyone involved and everyone trying their hardest. Often when there are ball hogs on teams the rest of the team stands around and waits for them to do their thing.

Yesterday – playing basketball – I was on fire! I was hitting three’s at a 4 out of 5 clip (80%)! It seemed like every time I shot the ball – I was hitting. My teammates began to expect me to shoot – which I probably should have more than I did (I usually don’t need encouragement to shoot). I must admit though – what I got the most kick out of yesterday morning was hitting a few teammates with passes that put them in great position to score. One teammate probably wasn’t expecting me to pass and the ball hit him in the chest and it bounced away. That one didn’t feel so good but there was the time when I went up for a shot (a 3 of course) and everyone on the other team turned for the rebound (if there was one) and a teammate broke for the basket too. I hit him in stride for a layup!

Here’s something we probably all realize – most of us – if not all of us – are selfish at the core. We naturally think about ourselves. We naturally think of ourselves before we think of others.

Here’s today’s passage in partial context. 1 Corinthians 10:23–11:1 – 23 “I have the right to do anything,” you say—but not everything is beneficial. “I have the right to do anything”—but not everything is constructive. 24 No one should seek their own good, but the good of others. 25 Eat anything sold in the meat market without raising questions of conscience, 26 for, “The earth is the Lord’s, and everything in it.” 27 If an unbeliever invites you to a meal and you want to go, eat whatever is put before you without raising questions of conscience. 28 But if someone says to you, “This has been offered in sacrifice,” then do not eat it, both for the sake of the one who told you and for the sake of conscience. 29 I am referring to the other person’s conscience, not yours. For why is my freedom being judged by another’s conscience? 30 If I take part in the meal with thankfulness, why am I denounced because of something I thank God for? 31 So whether you eat or drink or whatever you do, do it all for the glory of God. 32 Do not cause anyone to stumble, whether Jews, Greeks or the church of God—33 even as I try to please everyone in every way. For I am not seeking my own good but the good of many, so that they may be saved. 11:1 Follow my example, as I follow the example of Christ.

Think of others – look out for others – deny self and follow Jesus. Matthew 16:24–26 –24 Then Jesus said to his disciples, “Whoever wants to be my disciple must deny themselves and take up their cross and follow me. 25 For whoever wants to save their life will lose it, but whoever loses their life for me will find it. 26 What good will it be for someone to gain the whole world, yet forfeit their soul? Or what can anyone give in exchange for their soul?

Just something for us to think about today as we go on our way.

January 19, 2017 - Posted by | Build, Church, Community, Daily Devotion, Discipleship, Encouragement, Evangelism, Faith Journey, Family, From the Pastor, Leadership, Personal, Theology | , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

