Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

The Bread Of Life – Jesus

John 6:48

I am the bread of life.

RayMcDWhen I was growing up – I loved peanut butter and jelly sandwiches. OK – I admit it – I still love them. I could fix one or two for lunch on Saturday (when I was a child) and it would carry me through the westerns on TV. I could also go for a peanut butter and potato chip sandwich or a peanut butter and banana sandwich or even a peanut butter and marshmallow sandwich. The key elements in each of these is peanut butter and bread. Before we knew that plain white bread wasn’t the best for us – I would make my sandwiches with it. I later developed a taste for my bread toasted so that the peanut butter would melt on the toasted bread. I also grew to love chunky peanut butter. I now use rye bread with seeds for my sandwiches. It would have been hard to make any of these sandwiches without the bread!

When I was growing up – someone told me that people in prison were only given bread and water to eat and drink.  I responded – what – no peanut butter? And no chocolate milk (but that is another story all together)?

Bread has long been a staple of life. With a slice or two of bread and most anything else you can make a sandwich. One of favorites growing up that didn’t include peanut butter was a piece of toast with a little butter and a couple of strips of bacon! (Why am I getting hungry this late on a Thursday night as I type this devotional thought?) I need to move on from the analogies and get to today’s Scripture lesson.

Bread has long been a staple of life. Bread is a basic in most households – even all over the world. It is this staple of life that Jesus uses to describe Himself – I am the bread of lifeLet’s look at today’s passage in partial context. John 6:48-51 – I am the bread of life. Your forefathers ate the manna in the desert, yet they died. But here is the bread that comes down from heaven, which a man may eat and not die. I am the living bread that came down from heaven. If anyone eats of this bread, he will live forever. This bread is my flesh, which I will give for the life of the world.

The basics of life – Jesus Christ. Like a sandwich isn’t a sandwich without bread  so life without Jesus isn’t complete. Jesus is the bread of life that allows us to have life – life everlasting. Are we following – partaking – of the bread of life? Do we seek after His face and desire His grace? Do we rely on Christ for our very existence? Is Jesus the bread of life that sustains us?

Just something for us to think about today as we go on your way.

February 3, 2017 - Posted by | Build, Church, Community, Daily Devotion, Discipleship, Encouragement, Evangelism, Faith Journey, Family, From the Pastor, Leadership, Outreach, Personal, Theology | , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

