Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

I Love Springtime

Genesis 1:11

Then God said, “Let the land produce vegetation: seed-bearing plants and trees on the land that bear fruit with seed in it, according to their various kinds.” And it was so.

I love the springtime. I love warmer weather and budding plants. The fact that baseball season starts in the spring helps for sure. Go Orioles! Go Nationals!

Warmer weather means more outside activities and of course more sunshine for longer hours and that extra vitamin D helps most of us. I love cutting grass and springtime is a great time for that as the grass grows quickly in the warm days and cool nights.

What is your favorite time of the year? What are your favorite springtime activities? I love getting outside and doing chores that have mounted through the winter. My siding needs cleaned. My yard needs picked up. My wood needs cut and stacked for next winter. Some leaves are still around and some sticks and branches have fallen through the winter. I want to get outside and walk more and of course – playing golf in the spring is my second favorite season (I like fall golf the most).

Part of the creation story is about God creating the vegetation on the earth. I have to believe that poison ivy and other such plants were a consequence of the fall and not part of God’s perfect order!

I loved planting a garden when I was younger (part of how dad fed us). I loved watching the plants peek through the earth. I didn’t like weeding – but planting and harvesting were always at the top of my list.

The awesomeness of the creation story is never lost on me. God simply created – out of nothingness – and saw that it was good. I have a hard time creating out of something – let alone out of nothing. I remember a scientist saying they could recreate life and a pastor responded – how could you do that – and the scientist responded by taking this atom and this matter – at which the pastor said – no I meant could you produce life from nothingness.

Let us marvel at the created order this spring. Remember the barrenness of the winter and watch as nature comes alive (some of it already started to come alive before our last freeze – I hope it didn’t cause too much damage). Watching the flowers bloom – the woods fill with leaves – the grass begin to grow – the birds returning – is a fun part of the seasons here in Maryland.

Our God is an awesome God. I love springtime. It reminds me of God’s creation and the created order of things. It is a special time to worship God our creator.

Just something for us to think about today as we go on our way.

March 22, 2017 - Posted by | Build, Community, Daily Devotion, Discipleship, Encouragement, Faith Journey, Family, From the Pastor, Leadership, Lenten Thought, Outreach, Personal, Theology | , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

