Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

Bow Down In Worship Before God

Psalm 95:6-7

Come, let us bow down in worship, let us kneel before the Lord our Maker; for he is our God and we are the people of his pasture, the flock under his care. Today, if you hear his voice,

As I was reading some of my old blogs – I ran into some on worship that I thought I would rework and present. I used one yesterday titled – Let’s Check Our Attitude About Worship Today. Reading today’s passage – once again – it made me think of all of the worship services I have attended and participated in over the years. I thought of all the worship committee meetings – e-mails – calls – and notes sent me over the years with comments about worship. I started to wonder if we really grasp the concept of worship.

Far too often some folks think worship is about them. We want our favorite songs – or at least music we like – or the pastor to be dressed a certain way – or the service to be a certain length – or the sermon to reach us – feed us – each week. Some will say things like I’m not being fed in worship or I’m not getting anything out of the service. I’m sure there are many other thoughts that run through folks’ minds. What are some that you have thought or heard?

This may be a new thought to some but worship isn’t about us – at least not primarily. Worship is about God – coming before God to give God glory – honor – and praise. Today’s passage says – Come, let us bow down in worship, let us kneel before the Lord our Maker; for he is our God and we are the people of his pasture, the flock under his care. When was the last time we came to church with the mindset that we were there to worship God? I mean to really bow down before God and give God our total heart – mind – and soul?

Every so often someone will go to the cross in the fellowship hall and lie prostrate before the Lord – humbling themselves in God’s presence. I wonder how many people think – wow – is that crazy or what? Yet we shouldn’t be in worship to worry about what others do or think. If we feel like going to the cross or to the altar rail or to kneel or stand when others aren’t – shouldn’t we feel like we can do this? Last Sunday I sat through a couple of songs at the 11 am service when everyone else was standing – because I felt I needed to simply sit and experience God and feel Him working on me. I hope I wasn’t a distraction to others – but – I wasn’t there for anyone else but God at that moment.

Jesus said this about worship – John 4:24 – God is spirit, and his worshipers must worship in spirit and in truth.

David displayed an attitude we should have in worship – not caring what others thought. 2 Samuel 6:14-16 – David, wearing a linen ephod, danced before the Lord with all his might, while he and the entire house of Israel brought up the ark of the Lord with shouts and the sound of trumpets. As the ark of the Lord was entering the City of David, Michal daughter of Saul watched from a window. And when she saw King David leaping and dancing before the Lord, she despised him in her heart.

Now before someone reads into this devotional thought – I am not suggesting a style of worship but rather an attitude in worship. Our attitude should be about presenting ourselves before God to worship God and praise God! Give God our all! To be drawn deeper into God’s presence.

I don’t suggest I have the answers. I do believe that we should check our attitudes when we come to worship. We should think about God when we worship and we should also strive to think of those who do not have what we have – a relationship with God. We should be more concerned with what God think than others and we should be more interested in helping others come into the presence of God than how we feel – since most of us already have a relationship with Jesus.

Just something for us to think about today as we go on our way.

March 23, 2017 - Posted by | Bring, Build, Church, Community, Daily Devotion, Discipleship, Encouragement, Evangelism, Faith Journey, From the Pastor, Holy Spirit, Leadership, Lenten Thought, Outreach, Personal, Prayer, Sermons, Theology, Worship | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

