Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

Search Me – Oh God – And Know My Heart

Psalm 139:23

Search me, God, and know my heart; test me and know my anxious thoughts.

An actor was famous for saying – who loves you baby. Of course I’m talking about Telly Savalas when he played the lollypop loving lead role in the detective show Kojak (1973-1978). Knowing who loves you is important. I remember in grade school when girls sent notes to boys asking them if they liked them. We have a need to know who loves us – who likes us – how people feel about us.

A better question than who loves us or likes us is whom do we love or like? Some men have a hard time saying I love you to their wife or children. Knowing whom we love/like and being able to express it is important.

The word love – at times – flows too easily for some. Young men say it to young women in order to sway them to like them back or give them special attention. We might say we love someone – even saying we love Jesus – but as my mom would say – the proof is in the pudding or words are nice but actions speak louder than words.

Do we love God? Do we really love God more than anything or anyone? In scripture we are told to love God with all that we have and all that we are. Mark 12:30 – Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind and with all your strength.

Do we say things we don’t really mean? How do we know if someone really loves us? Has anyone ever fooled you into thinking they cared about you when in reality they didn’t? I would imagine a number of marriages have failed because one or both of the partners didn’t really mean it when they said they loved the other.

Do we really love God? Unlike when we say I love you to someone else – God can really see into our hearts. God knows full well whether we mean what we say or not. In today’s passage the Psalmist David asks God to search his heart and know him full well.

Here’s today’s passage in partial context. Psalm 139:13–24 – 13 For you created my inmost being; you knit me together in my mother’s womb. 14 I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful, I know that full well. 15 My frame was not hidden from you when I was made in the secret place, when I was woven together in the depths of the earth. 16 Your eyes saw my unformed body; all the days ordained for me were written in your book before one of them came to be. 17 How precious to me are your thoughts,  God! How vast is the sum of them! 18 Were I to count them, they would outnumber the grains of sand— when I awake, I am still with you. 19 If only you, God, would slay the wicked! Away from me, you who are bloodthirsty! 20 They speak of you with evil intent; your adversaries misuse your name. 21 Do I not hate those who hate you, Lord, and abhor those who are in rebellion against you? 22 I have nothing but hatred for them; I count them my enemies. 23 Search me, God, and know my heart; test me and know my anxious thoughts. 24 See if there is any offensive way in me, and lead me in the way everlasting.

God knows us – deep down inside. God formed us and knows our every thought before we bring it forth to consciousness. We cannot lie to God. We cannot pull the wool over His eyes.

God search us and know us. See if there is any veil thing in us and help us to remove it. We love You and we want to love you deep down inside.

Just something for us to think about today as we go on our way.

P.S. I may take a week or two off from doing a weekday devotional thought with my surgery next week. I will return as soon as I am able. Thanks for your prayers.

March 24, 2017 - Posted by | Build, Church, Community, Daily Devotion, Discipleship, Encouragement, Evangelism, Faith Journey, Family, From the Pastor, Leadership, Lenten Thought, Marriage, Personal, Theology | , , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

