Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

Call On The Lord

Psalm 120:1

I call on the Lord in my distress, and he answers me.

One night last week – as I was beginning my recovery from surgery – I woke and needed my meds. I wasn’t in distress – but I knew I soon would be feeling significant pain if I didn’t get my meds soon. I also knew there were babies sleeping in the house so I couldn’t call out with a loud voice. In a whisper – I called for my wife. Carolyn – can you hear me?

If the roles were reversed – I know I never would have heard her at that sound level – cause I sleep through most anything and I often sleep with my good ear down. She was in the bedroom and I was on my chair in the TV room (I still haven’t slept in the bed yet since surgery). She heard me and came to my aid. She has been a real trooper through this surgery – as always. I wouldn’t be as recovered as I am without her help and support.

In today’s passage – the Psalmist says that he called on the Lord in his distress and the Lord answered him. Have we ever had such a time of distress? Have we ever felt so down and out that we had to call on someone for help? So down and out that we had to call on the Lord in distress?

I have a friend who recently hit some difficult times. He has called out to God for help. He is confused because he doesn’t yet see God answering his prayers. I’ve encouraged him to keep crying out to God – God hears him and will answer.

Here’s today’s passage in partial context. Psalm 120:1-7 – 1 I call on the Lord in my distress, and he answers me. Save me, Lord, from lying lips and from deceitful tongues. What will he do to you, and what more besides, you deceitful tongue? He will punish you with a warrior’s sharp arrows, with burning coals of the broom bush. Woe to me that I dwell in Meshek, that I live among the tents of Kedar! Too long have I lived among those who hate peace. I am for peace; but when I speak, they are for war.

The Psalmist knew what it was like to be in distress – several times in his life. His enemies chased him and at times his enemies were those close to him. Whatever causes distress in our lives – God is ready and able to help. The help will not always come as we think it ought – but it will come. Call on the Lord and God will respond.

Just something for us to think about today as we go on our way.

P.S. The Orioles begin play today. I hope their season is not in distress this year. My hope is for another winning season that goes far into the fall.

April 3, 2017 - Posted by | Build, Community, Daily Devotion, Discipleship, Encouragement, Faith Journey, Family, From the Pastor, Leadership, Lenten Thought, Marriage, Personal, Theology | , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

