Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

God Knows All About Us

Psalm 139:3

You discern my going out and my lying down; you are familiar with all my ways.

When I was growing up – I had certain chores – like most of us I assume. One of my chores was to cut the grass. We had just moved into the new parsonage at Seat Pleasant UMC on Addison Road in Seat Pleasant – MD. That church has since been renamed Gethsemane UMC.

The grass was just starting to take root and so it was very thin – sparse. There were rocks in the soil and my dad instructed me to cut the grass with the mower pointing away from the house. This meant I would push the mower up the hill in our side yard and pull it down the hill. It was harder – I thought – than pushing it down hill and pulling it up the hill – so I turned the lawn mower around and did as I thought – rather than as my father had told me.

You guessed it – a rock shot out from under the mower and broke a downstairs window. It was in the basement laundry room. I was afraid of getting caught so I decided to clean up the mess and fix the window before my father found out. I wasn’t afraid of my father – but I didn’t want to disappoint him. I cleaned up the mess and tried – at my tender age – to figure our how I was going purchase a window pane – and replace it before my father found out.

My mother found the broken window and even with my good intent to replace the window – I was disciplined – 1) for not obeying my father’s directions – and 2) for not telling him I broke the window in the first place. I learned to not try to hide things from my father – he would eventually find out it seemed.

Have we tried to hide things from our heavenly Father? Even though we know we can’t – in our head – at times I think we somehow believe we can hide things from Him. Today’s passage reminds us that God knows all about us – Psalm 139:3 – You discern my going out and my lying down; you are familiar with all my ways.

Here’s this passage in partial context. Psalm 139:1–18 – You have searched me, Lord, and you know me. 2 You know when I sit and when I rise; you perceive my thoughts from afar. You discern my going out and my lying down; you are familiar with all my ways. 4 Before a word is on my tongue you, Lord, know it completely. You hem me in behind and before, and you lay your hand upon me. 6 Such knowledge is too wonderful for me, too lofty for me to attain. Where can I go from your Spirit? Where can I flee from your presence? 8 If I go up to the heavens, you are there; if I make my bed in the depths, you are there. 9 If I rise on the wings of the dawn, if I settle on the far side of the sea, 10 even there your hand will guide me, your right hand will hold me fast. 11 If I say, “Surely the darkness will hide me and the light become night around me,” 12 even the darkness will not be dark to you; the night will shine like the day, for darkness is as light to you. 13 For you created my inmost being; you knit me together in my mother’s womb. 14 I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful, I know that full well. 15 My frame was not hidden from you when I was made in the secret place, when I was woven together in the depths of the earth. 16 Your eyes saw my unformed body; all the days ordained for me were written in your book before one of them came to be. 17 How precious to me are your thoughts, God! How vast is the sum of them! 18 Were I to count them, they would outnumber the grains of sand— when I awake, I am still with you.

God knows all about us – even before we are born – even as we are being formed in our mother’s womb (this speaks volumes about the evil sinful practice of abortion by-the-way). We cannot hide anything from God – so why try. If I had just gone to my father when I broke the window – I would have only been punished for disobeying – not for holding the truth from him. If we confess our sins to our heavenly Father – His discipline will be less than if we try to hide it from Him (as if we could).

This is Holy Week and we are reminded that Jesus went to the cross to purchase forgiveness for our sins – if we yield our lives to Him and seek after Him. Confess and repent and seek forgiveness from the God who knows all about us.

Just something for us to think about today as we go on our way.

April 10, 2017 - Posted by | Build, Church, Community, Daily Devotion, Denomination, Discipleship, Encouragement, Evangelism, Faith Journey, Family, From the Pastor, Leadership, Lenten Thought, Personal, Theology | , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

