Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

Never Will I Leave You

Hebrews 13:5

Keep your lives free from the love of money and be content with what you have, because God has said, “Never will I leave you; never will I forsake you.”

Do we have any life-long friends? It is unusual to have friends from childhood till death. I have a few friends from my school days – but not many. Most of us grew up and went on with our lives. Because I attended three elementary schools – two junior high schools – and one high school – I haven’t been able to keep in touch with many from my younger days. Facebook has helped some.

My daughters are in the position that most pastors’ children do not experience. They started and finished grade school – middle school – and high school – with the same set of friends. Because we stayed in one church for 24 years – they grew up in the same school system and even today – grown and with families – they have some of the same friends for their school days.

Other than family – most of us don’t have friends from our childhood. For some of us – our 35-55-75 year marriage is the longest running friendship we have known. Some will never know that either – with many marriages not making it that long.

At most marriages – we take vows to stay together until death do us part. Unfortunately – those vows don’t always hold.

Today’s passage speaks about the love of money and God’s promise to never leave us or forsake us. Hebrews 13:5 – Keep your lives free from the love of money and be content with what you have, because God has said, “Never will I leave you; never will I forsake you.”

That is a packed passage. I won’t spend time on the love of money in this devotional thought. I will spend time on the phrase – “Never will I leave you; never will I forsake you.”

Many people may pledge to be with us forever – even our spouse at our marriage – but only One can say it and never change their mind. Friends can leave us when time gets tough. Spouses can divorce us when they don’t feel in love any longer. But God has promised – when we receive Him as Lord and Savior – when we turn our lives over to Him – He will never leave us nor forsake us. Theologically – that doesn’t mean that we can’t push back against Him – but that He will not give up on us.

One of my best friends from my childhood – died young with cancer. Another dear friend – moved several states away and until recently – on Facebook – we hadn’t connected for many years. Other friends from High School have moved on with their lives and on occasion we meet or talk. My wife has stayed with me for 38 years this summer. My siblings have been there for almost my whole life. But Jesus will never leave me nor forsake me. That is a promise that will last me until forever.

Just something for us to think about today as we go on our way.

April 19, 2017 - Posted by | Build, Church, Community, Daily Devotion, Discipleship, Encouragement, Evangelism, Faith Journey, Family, From the Pastor, Leadership, Marriage, Personal, Theology | , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

