Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

Drinking From The Fountain

John 4:13-14

Jesus answered, “Everyone who drinks this water will be thirsty again, but whoever drinks the water I give him will never thirst. Indeed, the water I give him will become in him a spring of water welling up to eternal life.”

Not sure about you – but I’m thirsty all the time. I love me some liquid! I SHOULD drink more water but I like a little taste and I like me some carbonation – some bubbles! I love sweet tea but am allergic to regular tea – it makes my sinuses act up. I enjoy Diet Pepsi – but I’m told soda of any sort is not good for me. I’ve tried flavored water and even carbonated flavored water. I just can’t seem to find the right combination that will satisfy my taste buds and my thirst. I keep trying. What I do know is I like to drink!

In today’s passage – a woman came to a well – in the middle of the day (a totally different element of this story) – because she needed water. Jesus met her and in the midst of His conversation with her – knowing she needed more than the water she was after at the well – began to touch her more deeply. Here’s a little more of the story.

John 4:9-14 – The Samaritan woman said to him, “You are a Jew and I am a Samaritan woman. How can you ask me for a drink?” (For Jews do not associate with Samaritans.) Jesus answered her, “If you knew the gift of God and who it is that asks you for a drink, you would have asked him and he would have given you living water.” “Sir,” the woman said, “you have nothing to draw with and the well is deep. Where can you get this living water? Are you greater than our father Jacob, who gave us the well and drank from it himself, as did also his sons and his flocks and herds?” Jesus answered, “Everyone who drinks this water will be thirsty again, but whoever drinks the water I give him will never thirst. Indeed, the water I give him will become in him a spring of water welling up to eternal life.”

I know I search for something to drink to quench my physical thirst – something that will do the trick and is actually good for me. As I search for this drink – I also realize that drinking from the well that is Christ – the Living Well – will quench my spiritual thirst and will satisfy my every need. During this season when the world tries to confuse us with more – more – and more – my prayer is that we will seek our more from Jesus – the drink that satisfies and fulfills. Trust in Jesus and thirst no more!

we should seek ways to meet with Jesus more often. We should increase our devotional time – attend worship more often – practice our faith – walk what we believe – witness our faith more often – and more. We should drink from the fountain that is Jesus and thirst no more!

Just something for us to think about today as we go on our way.

April 21, 2017 - Posted by | Build, Community, Daily Devotion, Discipleship, Encouragement, Evangelism, Faith Journey, Family, From the Pastor, Personal, Theology | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

