Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

Be Anxious About Nothing

Philippians 4:6-7

6 Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. 7 And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.

Today marks five full weeks since my rotator cuff surgery with a torn bicep muscle as well. I had physical therapy (PT) this morning and they are well pleased. They took measurements this morning to report to my surgeon on this Friday. My hope is that he will be pleased and released me from the sling and allow me to begin to use my arm some and build it back up.

The physical therapist said I had nearly 100% movement (compared to my right arm not compared to a young man or a double jointed person – LOL). In some measurements my movement was 100% or even better.

My hope is that by the last weekend in May I will be able to take half swings with my golf clubs – hip to hip. My family takes a vacation every year and we always play golf together. It would be hard to miss that bonding time with my brother and some of my nephews and a niece. If I must simply ride along – I will.

One could say I am anxious about my recovery. It is – after all – my favorite time of the year to play golf and to do yard work (I had to hire a friend to do some of my yard work this spring because I couldn’t do my own mulch or carry a trimmer around the yard on my shoulder yet).

I know – some folks have some really serious things to be anxious about in their lives. One friend is trying to make ends meet with his budget. Another has a mother in serious health condition. Another friend is facing life struggles with their health. Another friend is struggling with their marriage.

I know – some folks have some really serious things to be anxious about in their lives. ISIS is still threatening people’s lives – especially Christians and Muslims who do not agree with them. Our denomination is having some real struggles with unity around the arena of sexuality and scriptural authority. I just left a clergy meeting and some pastors are really struggling with the Judicial Council’s recent decisions.

I know – some folks have some really serious things to be anxious about in their lives. Some of my friends are preparing for another season of life – retirement. Some are taking new appointments July 1. Still others are debating their place in the United Methodist Church.

There is much to be anxious about in life. One thing we do not need to be anxious about is our salvation. Christ has purchased that for us if we accept Him and strive to live for Him. We can know that we know that we know that we are saved.

Today’s passage speaks to more for me than salvation. It speaks about all that we might be anxious about in life – for me. We need not be anxious how anything will come out if we place our trust in Jesus – because – if we have read the Bible correctly – Jesus wins in the end and if we are His – we win too. No mater what the world does to us or with us – in eternity we win.

Philippians 4:6-7 – 6 Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. 7 And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.

Let God’s peace reign in your life – whether it is being anxious about silly things like when you will be able to play golf again or serious life or death issues – we can have peace in Christ.

Just something for us to think about today as we go on our way.

P.S. – Heading to a lawyer today to do work on my will – nothing to be anxious about there – right!?

May 3, 2017 - Posted by | Build, Church, Community, Daily Devotion, Denomination, Discipleship, Encouragement, Evangelism, Faith Journey, Family, From the Pastor, Leadership, Outreach, Personal, Theology | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

