Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

Jesus’ Touch

Matthew 8:3

Jesus reached out his hand and touched the man.

There are days and nights when I remember my dad (mom too but this is about dad). My father was a wonderful man of God. I would imagine that some preacher’s kids get tired of hearing their father or mother preach. My wife often says she has heard (after 39 of 41 years of shared ministry and marriage) everything – several times – from me (LOL).

I never grew tired of hearing my dad preach. He had a way of making the Gospel real and down to earth so that even a child could understand what he was sharing. I remember – even as a teen – sitting in the balcony of the church or on the back pew (see – even as a youth I was a good Methodist – LOL) – and listening to my dad preach and being moved – being touched.

One of the things that touched me was that dad lived what he preached. He wasn’t on stage preaching and living a different life. He lived the truth he preached. I strive to follow that model today.

Who has touched you in your life? Can we remember folks that touched our lives? I remembered on Facebook a former teacher from my days at Annapolis High during this past week’s Teacher Appreciation week. There were so many people who have touched my life in ways that I will never be able to repay or thank.

In today’s passage – we are reminded once again how Jesus touched people’s lives. At times it was to heal them physically – at times spiritually. He touched people and they were never the same afterward.

Here’s today’s passage in partial context. Matthew 8:1–4 – 1 When Jesus came down from the mountainside, large crowds followed him. 2 A man with leprosy came and knelt before him and said, “Lord, if you are willing, you can make me clean.” 3 Jesus reached out his hand and touched the man. “I am willing,” he said. “Be clean!” Immediately he was cleansed of his leprosy. 4 Then Jesus said to him, “See that you don’t tell anyone. But go, show yourself to the priest and offer the gift Moses commanded, as a testimony to them.”

A man with leprosy came and knelt before him and said, “Lord, if you are willing, you can make me clean.” Jesus reached out his hand and touched the man. “I am willing,” he said. “Be clean!” Immediately he was cleansed of his leprosy. Whatever our issue – if we are willing – God can touch us and help us. How open are we to be touched by Jesus – by God? The Lord is willing to do so much more in our lives than we are to receive. If we were just more open and willing to be touched by Jesus – Jesus would do so much more in our lives. Today – let us pray that we would be open to the touch of Jesus in our lives and in the life of His church.

Just something for us to think about today as we go on our way.

May 4, 2017 - Posted by | Build, Church, Community, Daily Devotion, Denomination, Discipleship, Encouragement, Evangelism, Faith Journey, Family, From the Pastor, Leadership, Personal, Theology, Worship | , , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

