Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

Train Up A Child

Proverbs 22:6

Start children off on the way they should go, and even when they are old they will not turn from it.

Yesterday was Mother’s Day. It was my first Mother’s Day without my mom. There was one other person in each service that was facing their first Mother’s Day without their mom. It was not an easy Sunday. I couldn’t bring myself to preach a typical Mother’s Day sermon. It would have been too hard to deliver.

Today’s passage is familiar to many of us I’m sure. Proverbs 22:6 – Start children off on the way they should go, and even when they are old they will not turn from it. NIV11 In the KJV it reads this way – Proverbs 22:6 – Train up a child in the way he should go: And when he is old, he will not depart from it.

My mother did much of the child rearing/training – as my father worked several jobs to make ends meet while we were young (he drive a school bus – sub taught in the local High School – and served a church while attending college and seminary). She was the day-to-day presence in our lives. She and my grandmother were whom we turned to often in our daily lives as young children. I owe much if not most of my development as a child to my mom.

Mom and dad to a lesser degree – started me off on the right track with good morals and values. Dad became a bigger force for me as I grew and as he settled into a singular job – serving a church. At that time he had more time for us for sure. But mom was still there and still a day-to-day force in my life.

I followed my father’s model and worked several jobs while our children were young. I’m not saying that was the right pattern – it was simply the pattern set for me and I followed. My wife was the main one to rear the children on a day-to-day basis because I worked several jobs through most of their childhood so that my wife could be home and so that we could make ends meet.

I thank God for my mom and for my wife. They were/are both strong women of God and did their very best rearing their children. I have good memories of mom and of my wife and their role in rearing their children. Whatever was your pattern or the pattern of your parents/guardians – I pray that you have some good memories on this Mother’s Day.

Just something for us to think about today as we go on our way.

May 15, 2017 - Posted by | Build, Community, Daily Devotion, Discipleship, Encouragement, Faith Journey, Family, From the Pastor, Leadership, Personal, Theology | , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

