Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

My Memory – God’s Grace

Psalm 103:11-12

as high as the heavens are above the earth, so great is his love for those who fear him; as far as the east is from the west, so far has he removed our transgressions from us.

My memory is not the best. For instance – I forgot to put out today’s devotional. Before I hear a rousing chorus of amens from the peanut gallery about my memory – let me explain. I’m not sure if it is age – my Tourette Syndrome – my A.D.D. – a male thing – early Alzheimer’s disease or dementia – or simply who I am. I can leave my office and walk to Cathy’s desk and forget why I was going there. I can even at times get into my car and forget where I was headed. It’s my issue – among others – but today it reminded me of God’s grace.

You might ask how I got from my short term memory loss to God’s grace? Well – I’m going to tell you. One of the things my mom would often say about me is that I have always been able to do forget things quickly when it comes to hurts. I could be very hurt and upset one moment and come downstairs as if nothing was bothering me the next. I forgive and I think I forget quickly.

That is where I got to grace. That is our God! His grace covers all our sins and His forgiveness is not just short term but eternal.

Here’s today’s passage – Psalm 103:11-12as high as the heavens are above the earth, so great is his love for those who fear him; as far as the east is from the west, so far has he removed our transgressions from us.

Praise God that in my weakness I can still see the Almighty God who loves me enough to forgive me. Can you see God in your issues?

Just something for us to think about today as we go on our way.

May 19, 2017 - Posted by | Build, Community, Daily Devotion, Discipleship, Encouragement, Evangelism, Faith Journey, Family, From the Pastor, Leadership, Personal, Theology | , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

