Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

Annual Conference

Matthew 18:20

“For where two or three gather in my name, there am I with them.”

RayMcDThis week I am attending Annual Conference. I encourage those who are able to live stream annual conference – to do so (put some ear plugs in at work). The link can be found here – www.bwcumc.org.

I have been in deep prayer for our denomination over the last few years – even over the last 4 decades. I believe – more than ever and am reminded – often – that the Holy Spirit inspired the words I read. Over and over again I am reminded that the society doesn’t inform the Bible – the Bible should inform and transform the society. The truths – the lasting – timeless truths – found in the Bible – are to be life transforming. They are not meant to be read and forgotten. They are not meant to be simply a guiding light – but rather a life changing – life transforming message.

I pray that our denomination remains faithful to God and to His Holy Word. I pray that she will not succumb to the world’s view of truth – but will cling to the timeless truths found in God’s Word.

As I near the closing years of active ministry – I pray that I can remain faithful to God in all that I do and that the denomination my family has called home for four generations of pastors. I have strived through the years to remain faithful and to preach Jesus and His Word. I pray I will be allowed to continue to do so until I can no longer.

I have been blessed to serve God and God’s people in several wonderful congregations and thank them for molding me into the pastor I am today – still trying to get it right and serve God and His people. I thank the people at Trinity UMC in Annapolis – Smithville UMC in Dunkirk – Delmont UMC in Severn – Mt. Zion UMC in Lothian – Mt. Oak UMC in Mitchelville – and currently First UMC in Laurel – for supporting our ministry and our lives.

Please join with me and pray for our beloved United Methodist Church and her faithfulness to God. Pray that she will remain faithful to God’s Word and draw others to Christ. Be blessed and know that I appreciate you and pray for you often.

Just something for us to think about today as we go on our way!

June 1, 2017 - Posted by | Build, Church, Community, Daily Devotion, Daily Prayer, Denomination, Discipleship, Encouragement, Evangelism, Faith Journey, Family, From the Pastor, Leadership, Personal, Theology

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

