Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

Come To Our Senses

Luke 15:17

When he came to his senses

I remember – while in High School – being knocked silly during a drill in football. I was lying on my back and had to jump up – turn around (part of the drill) and between two pylons a running back was coming full speed and I had to stop him. It was our fullback and he was at full stride. We collided and I wrapped my arms around him and over we went. To say my bell was rung would be an understatement. This was before they knew much about concussions – but I imagine I had one – everything was spinning (I was a 155 pound wide receiver/tight end and he was a 220 pound fullback) (but I did stop him). When I came to my senses – I jumped up and gave a roar (and later went to one knee).

I remember – growing up – and hearing advice from my father that at the time seemed silly and nonsensical. I listened with respect – and nodded my head at the appropriate times. I remember thinking dad was so old fashion and square. That is until – as I was experiencing life – much if not all of what he told me came true and was later seen as wisdom. When I grew older and wiser – I came to my senses and realized my dad was smarter and wiser than I ever imagined.

Today’s passage comes from the story of the Prodigal Son. Here is today’s passage in partial context. Luke 15:11–21 – 11 Jesus continued: “There was a man who had two sons. 12 The younger one said to his father, ‘Father, give me my share of the estate.’ So he divided his property between them. 13 “Not long after that, the younger son got together all he had, set off for a distant country and there squandered his wealth in wild living. 14 After he had spent everything, there was a severe famine in that whole country, and he began to be in need. 15 So he went and hired himself out to a citizen of that country, who sent him to his fields to feed pigs. 16 He longed to fill his stomach with the pods that the pigs were eating, but no one gave him anything. 17 “When he came to his senses, he said, ‘How many of my father’s hired servants have food to spare, and here I am starving to death! 18 I will set out and go back to my father and say to him: Father, I have sinned against heaven and against you. 19 I am no longer worthy to be called your son; make me like one of your hired servants.’ 20 So he got up and went to his father. “But while he was still a long way off, his father saw him and was filled with compassion for him; he ran to his son, threw his arms around him and kissed him. 21 “The son said to him, ‘Father, I have sinned against heaven and against you. I am no longer worthy to be called your son.’

The Prodigal Son thought he knew better. He wanted his inheritance early and went off and wasted it in wild living. He probably thought that his father was old fashion and square too – until he came to his senses. When he came to his senses he realized how good he had it back with his father. He even realized that his father’s servants/workers had it better than he had it out in the world.

Many of us have probably tried life on our own. We probably have thought at some point that faith is so old fashion and square. We may have even given up on God at some point. My prayer today is that we will come to our senses – if we haven’t already – and come to realize that our faith is the only thing that is real and lasting about this temporal world we live in today. Life is ever changing and hardly ever predictable – while God is the same yesterday – today – and tomorrow. Let’s come to our senses and turn to God!

I spoke with a young adult this week about this – about turning their life over to God. It is simple and yet complex. The sinner’s prayer is this – Lord – I confess that I am a sinner in need of your graced and forgiveness. Forgive my sins (naming as many as you can remember) and come into my life – into my heart – as my Lord and Savior. Of course – we must be sincere and not merely say the words. We need to come to our senses and turn our lives over to God. We will not be disappointed.

Just something for us to think about today as we go on our way.

June 21, 2017 - Posted by | Build, Church, Community, Daily Devotion, Discipleship, Encouragement, Evangelism, Faith Journey, Family, From the Pastor, Holy Spirit, Leadership, Personal, Theology | , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

