Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

Are We A New Creation?

2 Corinthians 5:17

Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; the old has gone, the new has come!

Today’s passage should be very familiar to us. If you have heard me preach or teach for any length of time – you have heard this passage used. I wonder if we give it much thought.

It may be painful – but try to remember if we can – if we know Jesus as our Lord and Savior – what it felt like before we made the decision to follow Him. I made the decision as a youth – but I can remember the feeling after I made the decision more than the feeling beforehand. I mean – I grew up in the church – and although a sinner – not a really bad person. I did think I was a Christian beforehand – thinking that because I went to church I was a Christian. But soon after giving my heart to Jesus – I knew what it was like to be a new creation. I felt like flying – I felt free – I felt relieved and blessed.

I have talked to some who received Christ later in life and they have similar reports – but with a deeper memory of their life prior to Jesus. Some walked in drugs or alcohol. Some lived lives of crime. Some didn’t grow up in the church. Can we remember? What is our story?

I wish I could say that I have always walked with that freedom felt when I received Jesus. Although I believe I have been saved from that moment – my life has not been sinless and through my sin I have dampened my freedom – my feelings of walking so close to Jesus. When we sin – as Christians – redeemed and forgiven – we put a barrier up between us and God. We dampen the Spirit working in us because we have chosen sin over our relationship with Jesus. That is why we should make it a regular practice to confess and repent of our sins before God – to wipe that barrier away so that an uninterrupted walk with Jesus may flourish.

Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; the old has gone, the new has come!  Yet as you have often heard me say – the old hasn’t gone very far. Like we often say – the war has been won but the battles rage on.

Pray for me and I will pray for you – that we will always feel that freedom that comes from receiving Christ and becoming a new creation in Him. Pray for me to walk more closely with Christ everyday – and I will do the same for you. Because to be honest with you – I don’t like feeling like there is anything between me and Jesus.

Are we a new creation? Have we asked Jesus into our heart and into our lives? Is Jesus our Lord and Savior? If so – we MUST be a new creation – the old has gone – the new has come!

Just something for us to think about today as we go on our way.

June 28, 2017 - Posted by | Build, Church, Community, Daily Devotion, Daily Prayer, Discipleship, Encouragement, Evangelism, Faith Journey, Family, From the Pastor, Leadership, Personal, Prayer, Theology | , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

