Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

What Is Precious To Us?

1 Peter 2:7

Now to you who believe, this stone is precious. But to those who do not believe, “The stone the builders rejected has become the capstone,”

What is it we count as precious? Growing up I collected comic books. I had Captain America, Thor, The Avengers, Hulk, Wolverine, Batman, Aqua Man, Superman, Green Hornet, Silver Surfer, Fantastic Four, and more. For some – I had complete original series – in mint condition. I read them all and kept them in a box in the basement of our home. In a sense they were precious to me – precious in the sense that I collected them and kept them.

One day my mom had a yard sale. She was selling all sorts of things. I helped for a while and then I had to go umpire a baseball game. I left for a few hours. I went over to the old Elk’s field in Annapolis for the baseball game. When I returned the sale was just about over and I helped bring things into the house. It was later that evening that I found that I was missing my comic collection. My younger brother had taken them out and sold them in the yard sale. I was furious. Something that was precious to me was taken away – without my permission. I hate to think of what they would be worth today. I’m just glad he didn’t find my box of baseball cards – some of the hang in my office now at work!

What is precious to us? A ring from our grandmother? An engagement ring we took years to pay off? Videos or pictures of our children growing up? If there was a fire in our home – what would we grab on the way out? If the children were safe – if we had time to grab one thing – what would it be? What is irreplaceable?

Jesus is whom Peter was writing about when he wrote – 1 Peter 2:7 – Now to you who believe, this stone is precious. But to those who do not believe, “The stone the builders rejected has become the capstone,” Jesus is the precious stone some of the builders rejected.

Jesus was teaching about the kingdom of heaven and He described it like this: Matthew 13:44-46 – The kingdom of heaven is like treasure hidden in a field. When a man found it, he hid it again, and then in his joy went and sold all he had and bought that field. Again, the kingdom of heaven is like a merchant looking for fine pearls. When he found one of great value, he went away and sold everything he had and bought it.

Is our relationship with Jesus precious to us? Is heaven so precious to us – that we would do anything to help others find Jesus? Our Discipleship program at church is all about building us up in the faith so we will be a brighter light for others to see Jesus. Is it that important – that precious to us – that we would do most anything to help others see Jesus?

Sunday we will take a look at this verse – John 14:6 – Jesus answered, I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me. We will see that Jesus is the way and the precious stone.

Just something for us to think about today as we go on our way.

July 5, 2017 - Posted by | Build, Church, Community, Daily Devotion, Discipleship, Encouragement, Faith Journey, Family, From the Pastor, Leadership, Personal, Theology | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

