Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

Let’s Streamline Our Lives

1 Peter 2:1

Therefore, rid yourselves of all malice and all deceit, hypocrisy, envy, and slander of every kind.

I’m the type of person who likes change in my work environment. I would change my office at home and at work every year or two – to give me a different look and feel. This has become harder in our current home and in my current office because of a mounted TV at work and the windows in my home office (along with the internet hookup). Because I can’t change my desk position much anymore – I’m making a plan to streamline my office at home (giving away some books and such since most everything is online now). I have a nice sound system that needs to find a good home because I listen to music at home on my computer and at work on my Smart TV. The hope is that a more streamlined office will give me more flexibility and less of a confined feeling.

Carolyn and I want to streamline our home now as well – not wanting to leave (in 30 years or so) that task to our children when we’re gone or unable to do it. Like many – we have things stored in the house that we haven’t used for 20 years or more and we should give them away or recycle them. Less stuff will give us a streamlined feel to our home. It will make it easier for the children eventually too.

In today’s passage we are called to streamline our lives in regards to sin. 1 Peter 2:1 – Therefore, rid yourselves of all malice and all deceit, hypocrisy, envy, and slander of every kind. Throughout the Bible we are called to sin-less! We are called to clear our lives of the clutter of sin. We are called to follow after the example of Christ and to put God first. When I do this (and I don’t always for sure) I feel less cluttered in my life – more inline with God’s plan and will for me. Like a clean and uncluttered life (office) – when I confess and repent and strive to walk the talk – I feel better – I feel refreshed.

Here’s today’s passage in partial context. 1 Peter 2:1–3 – 1 Therefore, rid yourselves of all malice and all deceit, hypocrisy, envy, and slander of every kind. Like newborn babies, crave pure spiritual milk, so that by it you may grow up in your salvation, 3 now that you have tasted that the Lord is good. Another thing I noticed about today’s passage and it probably applies to all sin – these sins listed are all heart problems. We’re called to rid our lives of malice, all deceit, hypocrisy, envy, and slander. When I clean my office I feel fresh when I come into it to work. The more I clean my life of sin – the more I feel like I am drawing closer to Jesus. The more cluttered my office – the less I feel like working in it. The more that sin mounts in my life – unconfessed sin – the further from God I feel.

Let’s plan to streamline our lives in many ways. Let’s plan to walk more clearly with Jesus and sin-less.

Just something for us to think about today as we go on our way.

July 6, 2017 - Posted by | Daily Devotion | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

