Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

Quiet Time Is Essential

Mark 6:31

Then, because so many people were coming and going that they did not even have a chance to eat, he said to them, “Come with me by yourselves to a quiet place and get some rest.”

OK – we prayed for our children and grandchildren to come home – two grandchildren and parents were living in New Jersey while three grandchildren with parents were living in California. We are so glad to have them back home. It is good to have family close. It was special having almost the whole family together for the 4th of July celebration at my brother’s home.

Having said that – quiet times around the McDonald home are few and far between these days. Three of the grandchildren are staying with us as the family prepares their home. Being so close to the other two grandchildren – you know they are over often. They love each other – yet like siblings and cousins – there are times they battle as well. I am not complaining – but finding a quiet moment is not as easy as it was when it was just the wife and I. Yet we realize how important – even essential – quiet time can be for us.

Typing this devotional – I have a new pair of wireless headphones on (go Amazon) – listening to Pandora Radio (Motown Radio). Finding a quiet place isn’t always easy. It wasn’t easy for Jesus. He had no wireless headphones or an office with a door to close. Crowds often followed Him wherever He went. Yet Jesus knew how essential it is to have quiet time.

Here’s today’s passage in partial context. Mark 6:30–34 – 30 The apostles gathered around Jesus and reported to him all they had done and taught. 31 Then, because so many people were coming and going that they did not even have a chance to eat, he said to them, “Come with me by yourselves to a quiet place and get some rest.” 32 So they went away by themselves in a boat to a solitary place. 33 But many who saw them leaving recognized them and ran on foot from all the towns and got there ahead of them. 34 When Jesus landed and saw a large crowd, he had compassion on them, because they were like sheep without a shepherd. So he began teaching them many things.

This passage comes just before the story of Jesus feeding the 5,000. Jesus was trying to find some peace and quiet. He wanted some solitude – some time away with His disciples – time to pray and think and rest. But the crowds followed Him wherever He went – But many who saw them leaving recognized them and ran on foot from all the towns and got there ahead of them.

If Jesus needed time away – time for peace and quiet – so do we dear reader. If Jesus saw time away as essential for Him and His disciples – we ought to see it as well. We need to find time – as precious as it may be – to sit and soak in the Spirit – to be in the presence of God – to be restored. When I work out in the gym – I have my headphones on (counting on these new wireless ones to help eliminate the wires getting in the way) – listening to music or podcasts (teachings). I can block out the busyness of the world and focus with some peace and quiet. When I cut the grass – same deal – I can block out the world for a little while! I know I get far more time than my wife.

By the way – I now know why God gives us children when we are younger! As a grandparent – I love my grandchildren and love spending time with them – but they can be so demanding and loud – LOL. When we can we try to give their parents some peace and quiet time alone or with each other – cause we know how precious that time is for us. I love playing with them and giving them time with Pop – but I

How do you set aside your quiet time with God and with self? If you don’t have a plan – make a plan. Even if the plan doesn’t go as you plan – like with Jesus in today’s passage – it is important enough to find quiet time to process your thoughts and focus on Jesus!

By the way – I know how blessed this season of life is with my grandchildren – maybe more than I realized it with my own children. I am in no way complaining. But I do know how precious quiet time can be! It is essential! Plan it – make room for it in your life!

Just something for us to think about today as we go on our way.

July 10, 2017 - Posted by | Build, Community, Daily Devotion, Discipleship, Encouragement, Evangelism, Faith Journey, Family, From the Pastor, Leadership, Personal, Theology | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

