Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

Let Your Light So Shine For Jesus

Matthew 5:16

In the same way, let your light shine before others, that they may see your good deeds and glorify your Father in heaven.

All of my life – growing up – I was told that my actions reflected on my earthly father and mother. My dad was the pastor of my home church and as I grew into my teens – people knew him and if I did something good or something not so good – it would reflect upon him (and mom).

I remember a time in my early twenties when my friends wanted to go downtown Annapolis – drinking. I went along with them (I didn’t and don’t drink). I remember wrestling with the idea of my witness to my friends (that I could have a good time without drinking) and the witness of someone seeing me coming out of a bar (I was raised in the old Methodist belief that drinking was something to be avoided – we called it abstinence).

I went with them – and it was a good idea that I did – because I ended up driving a few of my friends home. After that evening – one of my friends swore off drinking. I told my dad about the evening and it was a good thing – because some busy body did see me and started a rumor about the preacher’s kid drinking and dad was able to deflate the rumor quickly with the facts.

I know this was an example most would not even see as an issue – but I hope it makes us think about our witness. At work – do we take supplies from work home (stealing)? If so – how does this reflect our witness to others? Does our language at times not reflect well on Jesus? Do we listen to jokes of conversations that are not uplifting or positive – maybe even crude and gossip? How do we reflect Christ during the day? How are we reflecting Christ in our lives?

It is easier to let our light shine at church – surrounded by other Christians or at least people who say they are Christians (above my pay grade to determine who is and who is just playing the game). It is when we hit the real world that it becomes a real battle at times to reflect Jesus.

Here’s today’s passage in partial context. Matthew 5:13–16 – 13 “You are the salt of the earth. But if the salt loses its saltiness, how can it be made salty again? It is no longer good for anything, except to be thrown out and trampled underfoot. 14 “You are the light of the world. A town built on a hill cannot be hidden. 15 Neither do people light a lamp and put it under a bowl. Instead they put it on its stand, and it gives light to everyone in the house. 16 In the same way, let your light shine before others, that they may see your good deeds and glorify your Father in heaven.

What this passage suggests to me is even a little makes a big difference. Even the slightest witness for Christ – can be the salt or the light that makes a difference. We don’t need to be pastors or evangelists to make a difference. We can be a small difference in the darkness of the world and make a difference for those around us.

Just something for us to think about today as we go on our way.

July 24, 2017 - Posted by | Build, Church, Community, Daily Devotion, Denomination, Discipleship, Encouragement, Evangelism, Faith Journey, Family, From the Pastor, Leadership, Missions, Outreach, Personal, Theology | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

