Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

Spending More Time In Prayer

Psalm 61:1
“Hear my cry, O God; listen to my prayer.”

RayMcD

‬Have any of our readers had a moment or even a longer time when we cried out to the Lord in prayer? Maybe it was a time of great pain or a time when we were making major changes in our life and felt frustrated or overwhelmed. I’ve experienced times in my life when I have cried out for God – thinking that God was no where to be found. I felt alone – I felt lost – I felt as if I were all alone.

A young person recently posted on their Facebook page seeking prayers. They asked for their Facebook friends to seek God in prayer for an unspoken prayer request. Have we ever spent a whole evening praying? We would call praying all night – praying through something – until we had an answer. What is the longest time frame we have spent in prayer for one item? How many days have we prayed for something before we’ve given up? Think about the things we have spent time praying over.

Today’s passage speaks about crying out to God in prayer. Here it is in partial context. Psalm 61:1-8 – Hear my cry, O God; listen to my prayer. From the ends of the earth I call to you, I call as my heart grows faint; lead me to the rock that is higher than I. 3 For you have been my refuge, a strong tower against the foe. I long to dwell in your tent forever and take refuge in the shelter of your wings. For you, God, have heard my vows; you have given me the heritage of those who fear your name. Increase the days of the king’s life, his years for many generations. May he be enthroned in God’s presence forever; appoint your love and faithfulness to protect him. Then I will ever sing in praise of your name and fulfill my vows day after day.

Yesterday I asked for prayers for our local churches and for the Christian church universal. I’m not sure we pray enough – do we? I’m not sure we can pray too much – do we? We need to be prayer warriors. We need to spend more and more time before the Lord in prayer. We need to seek refuge in the Lord. We need to dwell in His presence as we pray. We need to seek His face and desire His grace.

Do we have family prayer time? Have our children seen and heard us pray (and I’m not counting prayers at meal time only). Our communication with God – our prayer time – needs to increase. Who will join me and spend more time today in prayer? Who will join me and pledge to spend more time each day in prayer? I know God will bless us for spending time with Him. We need to spend more time in prayer!

Just something for us to think about today as we go on our way!

July 26, 2017 - Posted by | Build, Church, Community, Daily Devotion, Daily Prayer, Denomination, Discipleship, Encouragement, Faith Journey, Family, From the Pastor, Leadership, Outreach, Personal, Prayer, Theology | , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

