Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

With All Our Heart

Proverbs 3:5

Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding;

Are we Masters of anything? My brother is a Master plumber. He is one of the best plumbers in the Annapolis area – maybe in the state. I have often said he is a Jack-of-all-trades and a Master of many. What are we Masters of – if anything?

One thing I feel pretty confident with is the area of finances. My wife and I have made some pretty good investments and have handled our money wisely over the years (thank you Jesus). But even in this area I have a great friend who has given me great advise over the years too.

Another thing I feel confident with is my knowledge of the Word of God. But even in this area – where I have two advanced degrees (Master of Divinity and Doctor of Ministry) – 40 plus years of ministry under my belt – and 50 years plus of faith – I have mentors that I turned to for guidance (I lost one 5 years ago when my father passed).

Are there areas where you feel confident? I know some teachers who have taught for 10- 20 – 30 years and more who feel confident with their material – yet they are constantly learning and revising their lesson plans. I know police officers who are trained to respond in a split second to circumstances around them – with expertise – yet they train and learn and continue to hone their craft.

Bottom line – most of us may be experts in some fields – but we still need to learn and grow. These are the thoughts that went through my mind when I read today’s passage. Proverbs 3:5 – Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding.

I was also reminded of something Paul wrote. Colossians 2:8 – See to it that no one takes you captive through hollow and deceptive philosophy, which depends on human tradition and the elemental spiritual forces of this world rather than on Christ.

Even if we think we know all about God (foolish right) – our thinking and understanding is so skewed. We often have a secular worldview rather than a Godly worldview. We need to trust in the Lord and His Holy Word rather than our thinking – our understanding of things. We need to stay focused on Jesus – with all our heart!

Just something for us to think about today as we go on our way.

P.S. – I had a terrible day today shooting the ball and had the ball stollen from me twice and I threw away a couple of passes. Of course I was playing against a player that was 40 years younger than me – but that shouldn’t have mattered. I had to count on my teammates more today for sure. They were up to the task. We won 2 of 3 games.

September 6, 2017 - Posted by | Build, Church, Community, Daily Devotion, Discipleship, Encouragement, Evangelism, Faith Journey, Family, From the Pastor, Leadership, Personal, Theology | , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

