Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

Rejoicing Comes In The Morning

Psalm 30:5

For his anger lasts only a moment, but his favor lasts a lifetime; weeping may stay for the night, but rejoicing comes in the morning.

I wonder how many times – if ever – we have had so much on our plate – we had trouble getting to sleep at night – or staying asleep? I know I have experienced some sleepless nights because of what has been on my plate. I’ve also been awakened in the middle of the night because of what I was facing the next day.

I remember as a child not being able to sleep because something special was coming the next day. I remember as an adult having so much to accomplish the next day I could hardly sleep. I’ve also experienced troubled times that have kept me from getting a good night’s sleep. Is anyone with me in these experiences or am I alone? And how about that time you had to face something you wished you didn’t have to face?

Just last night I heard the news that one of our wonderful members at First Church passed. Bob has been heavy on my heart of late and I have lifted him and others from our church in prayer – at times waking to pray in the middle of the night. Weeping comes upon us at times – but joy often comes in the morning (weeping may stay for the night, but rejoicing comes in the morning.) I work better – even with troubling times – when I’ve had some rest.

Here’s today’s passage in partial context. Psalm 30:1–6 – I will exalt you, Lord, for you lifted me out of the depths and did not let my enemies gloat over me. 2 Lord my God, I called to you for help, and you healed me. You, Lord, brought me up from the realm of the dead; you spared me from going down to the pit. Sing the praises of the Lord, you his faithful people; praise his holy name. 5 For his anger lasts only a moment, but his favor lasts a lifetime; weeping may stay for the night, but rejoicing comes in the morning. 6 When I felt secure, I said, “I will never be shaken.”

Anger or trouble doesn’t last forever. Trouble comes and often goes as quickly as it comes. The favor of God can last a lifetime if we keep our focus on Him (anger lasts only a moment, but his favor lasts a lifetime).

Weeping may happen but joy comes in the morning (weeping may stay for the night, but rejoicing comes in the morning). I try to rejoice every morning for a new beginning – a new day. I try to refocus – not on the troubles before me (and at times they are substantial – believe me) – but on Jesus who has seen me through another night and into a new day.

The Psalmist learned to rely on God – and so should we – no matter what we face. Let’s begin today with our eyes on Jesus and not on the storms of life raging around us. Remember the story of Peter walking on the water? Matthew 14:28–30 – 28 “Lord, if it’s you,” Peter replied, “tell me to come to you on the water.” 29 “Come,” he said. Then Peter got down out of the boat, walked on the water and came toward Jesus. 30 But when he saw the wind, he was afraid and, beginning to sink, cried out, “Lord, save me!”

When Peter took his eyes off of Jesus and onto the storm – he began to sink. When we take our eyes off of Jesus – the troubles that surround us will surely begin to overwhelm us. Keeping our eyes on Jesus will allow His presence to carry us through the night and into the dawn of a new day!

Just something for us to think about today as we go on our way.

September 18, 2017 - Posted by | Build, Church, Community, Daily Devotion, Daily Prayer, Discipleship, Encouragement, Evangelism, Faith Journey, Family, From the Pastor, Leadership, Personal, Theology | , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

