Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

Take Refuge In The Lord!

Psalm 57:1

Have mercy on me, my God, have mercy on me, for in you I take refuge. I will take refuge in the shadow of your wings until the disaster has passed.

Have any of us had rough days – troubled days? (LOL) I know – silly question. Most all of us have had hard days – some of us have had hard weeks – months – years and maybe even lifetimes. I’m thinking this morning of those who have been impacted by the recent hurricanes that hit the US – the Caribbean Islands – and other places. Puerto Rico for instance – a US territory – has been totally devastated.

I’m also thinking of the troubles that come from relationships and from life in general. Today I’m thinking of friends who have had or are experiencing broken marriages. I’m thinking about a colleague who lost a child through a drug overdose. I’m thinking about the folks I know who have lost loved ones through automobile accidents. I’m thinking of those who have faced life and death situations. I’m thinking of those in Vegas and their families.

I’m also thinking about those who have folks around them with evil hearts – with destructive attitudes. I’m thinking of those who were mentally and physically abused as children or as an adult. I’m thinking of friends who have faced the attacks of persons seeking to hurt and destroy. I’m thinking of those who have been damaged by gossip and idle talk.

The list – unfortunately – could continue. What trouble or difficult time have we faced dear readers? In the midst of the storms of life – we need to remember to keep our eyes on Jesus. My wife reminds me of that often. Remember what happened to Peter when he took his eyes off of Jesus and put them on the storm around him. Matthew 14:25–33 – 25 Shortly before dawn Jesus went out to them, walking on the lake. 26 When the disciples saw him walking on the lake, they were terrified. “It’s a ghost,” they said, and cried out in fear. 27 But Jesus immediately said to them: “Take courage! It is I. Don’t be afraid.” 28 “Lord, if it’s you,” Peter replied, “tell me to come to you on the water.” 29 “Come,” he said. Then Peter got down out of the boat, walked on the water and came toward Jesus. 30 But when he saw the wind, he was afraid and, beginning to sink, cried out, “Lord, save me!” 31 Immediately Jesus reached out his hand and caught him. “You of little faith,” he said, “why did you doubt?” 32 And when they climbed into the boat, the wind died down. 33 Then those who were in the boat worshiped him, saying, “Truly you are the Son of God.”

God has promised to abide with us through all of life’s ups and downs. I’ve often said that we need to build on our relationship with Jesus during the good times (often people forget Jesus when things are going well) so that when the bad times come our way our relationship with Him is strong. The Psalmist said – Psalm 57:1 – Have mercy on me, my God, have mercy on me, for in you I take refuge. I will take refuge in the shadow of your wings until the disaster has passed.

Whatever we face – whatever we are going through – God has promised to be with us and to be our shelter – our refuge. I know in my life – during troubled times – if I keep my eyes on Jesus – I can deal with the troubles so much better. I urge our readers today to keep their eyes on Jesus – always – so that when troubles come – He will be there to carry us through. Take refuge in the Lord – and He will comfort us!

Just something for us to think about today as we go on our way.

P.S. – I’m asking for prayers today for Ken and Bobbi from our church! God knows why!

October 4, 2017 - Posted by | Build, Church, Community, Daily Devotion, Discipleship, Encouragement, Evangelism, Faith Journey, Family, From the Pastor, Leadership, Marriage, Personal, Theology | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

