Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

Mountain Top Experiences

Isaiah 6:3

And they were calling to one another: “Holy, holy, holy is the Lord Almighty; the whole earth is full of his glory.

Have you ever had a mountain top experience? As a child I remember going camping with the family. We often went to Skyline Drive. At times we used a tent. After a few years dad and mom bought a Shasta trailer. We enjoyed the great outdoors. We had many mountain top experiences.

When we drove to our campgrounds along Skyline Drive we would often pull over at some of the overlooks – where we could get a glimpse of the beautiful mountains. The mountains – God’s creation – are real treasures to me. Being from West Virginia – I can remember many mountain top experiences as we traveled the roads back home. The glory of God is seen in nature – for me – more than anywhere else I think!

I remember another mountain top experience. It was the day of my salvation in the summer of 1967. My father held a revival and I felt so moved that I came forward to receive Jesus Christ as my personal Lord and Savior. I remember another time during 1968 when we held a 24-hour month long prayer vigil at our church. I spoke about this during my sermon yesterday. I remember taking a half-hour time slot every day for a month. It was a moving experience and I often felt the presence of God as I sat in the church’s chapel and prayed and read Scripture. I was 13 and learned so much about prayer. There were other times in my life I have experienced the fullness of God’s glory – how about you – dear reader?

Have you ever had a mountain top experience? Spiritually speaking I can remember a few – other than the two I shared about my salvation and the prayer vigil. One that comes to mind for me was the Stand in the Gap Assembly on October 4 – 1997 – sponsored by Promise Keepers. Here is a short video report:

The glory of God was all around me at Stand in the Gap. I witnessed over a million men bow before the Lord and worship Him on the mall in DC. I was reminded of that event when I read today’s passage – seen here in partial context. Isaiah 6:1-4 – 1 In the year that King Uzziah died, I saw the Lord, high and exalted, seated on a throne; and the train of his robe filled the temple. 2 Above him were seraphim, each with six wings: With two wings they covered their faces, with two they covered their feet, and with two they were flying. And they were calling to one another: “Holy, holy, holy is the Lord Almighty; the whole earth is full of his glory.” 4 At the sound of their voices the doorposts and thresholds shook and the temple was filled with smoke.

I have had other mountain top experiences. Have you ever felt so close to God – maybe during a time of prayer or at a revival – that you felt like His hand was on your shoulder? Have you every experienced feeling the Holy Spirit so powerfully that you felt like you were going to come out of your skin and fly to God? Have you ever been in worship and didn’t want it to end because you simply felt the glory of God in that place?

One of my favorite sayings is seek His face, while desiring His grace. Jesus promises He will come in and sup with us – spend time with us – if we merely open the door to our hearts to Him – if we seek Him. Revelation 3:20 – Here I am! I stand at the door and knock. If anyone hears my voice and opens the door, I will come in and eat with that person, and they with me. Seek the Lord and the mountain top experiences that will come as we walk with Him.

Just something for us to think about today as we go on our way.

October 9, 2017 - Posted by | Build, Church, Community, Daily Devotion, Discipleship, Encouragement, Evangelism, Faith Journey, Family, From the Pastor, Leadership, Personal, Theology | , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

