Ray McDonald's Blog

Devotional Thoughts

My Grass Needed the Rain

Isaiah 40:6

A voice says, “Cry out.” And I said, “What shall I cry?” “All men are like grass, and all their glory is like the flowers of the field.”

A number of summers ago I lost my front yard (it happens more often than I would like to admit). A combination of the lack of water – excess sunshine – and a weak root system does it in about this time each year. After losing my yard – in the following fall – I treat the ground – aerate – seed with good seed – fertilize with starter fertilizer and winter fertilizer later in the season and that following spring I fertilized it again. It usually comes up strong and full. I fully realize that if I can’t figure out a way to water the yard in the heat of the summer – it will not be as full later in the year. I’ve gotten an estimate for a sprinkler system – and that was way out of my comfortable price range. I purchased some extra hose and have tried – each summer – during the dry periods – to water the front yard. It did OK this summer and the rains we are getting lately have helped.

Even with all of that work each fall – my yard was like most yards – dormant (to a degree) or dead in spots. Most years it remains green through the winter – thanks to fertilizers and mild winters. When we have a warm and wet spring – my yard looks great each spring and into the summer. During these growing seasons the roots deepen and thicken before the summer months. I cut my grass at the highest setting my lawn tractor with a mulching kit will allow. I cut the grass twice a week during the peak-growing season so I don’t leave behind piles or clumps of dead grass. I love a green lawn throughout the year! One of these days – it just might happen.

I read today’s passage – Isaiah 40:6 – A voice says, “Cry out.” And I said, “What shall I cry?” “All men are like grass, and all their glory is like the flowers of the field.”

I have struggled with my yard year after year ever since we built our home 20 plus years ago. It comes in strong and by the mid-summer – it is just about gone in the front. Some years it is completely gone by mid summer. It flourishes and fades – it comes on like it will last and then dies. I even hired a well-known company for three years to treat my yard – hoping that would help. It didn’t. I actually had better success doing it alone – and so I do it now myself. Maybe after I retire and I can water it early in the morning several times a week – it might just survive.

I wonder if this is how we are in our faith? We come on strong and fade? We return from a youth conference – a Promise Keepers event – Catalyst – a Women of Faith event – and we just fade from our spiritual high. We stand strong for a season – only to die in the heat of battle? Is our faith like the grass and the flowers that come and go? We’ve had flowers in our yard that bloomed and later died. We have a hard time with flowers too! Is our faith like this?

Maybe this passage is a statement about how short life is – on earth. We are here for such a short time – and if our focus is not on an eternity with God – have we not wasted our time here? I want the years I have left to be meaningful for eternity – not just for my employment and my enjoyment – although I would love some of these too. I pray our church is doing more than merely counting time. I hope we are focused on reaching everyone for Christ! Without Christ – like the grass and the flowers – when the time comes – we will wither and die – eternally – burnt in the fires of hell! We must be refreshed and lifted by the joy of serving our Jesus and allow Jesus to carry us through the good and bad seasons of life.

Spiritually – our fellowship – worship and devotional life – can be considered our rain. We often hit our spiritual highs when we experience great fellowship – worship and devotions. We often fad when we do not pay attention to these ways that God uses to water our faith. Don’t ignore our need to be in the presence of God – often – to grow in Christ and flourish.

My grass needed the rains of late. My spirit needs the rain of God upon it as well.

Just something for us to think about today as we go on our way!

August 5, 2020 - Posted by | Church, Community, Daily Devotion, Daily Prayer, Discipleship, Encouragement, Evangelism, Faith Journey, From the Pastor, Leadership, Personal, Prayer, Theology | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.