Ray McDonald's Blog

Devotional Thoughts

Facing Death – People of Faith Do It Differently

Psalm 23:4

Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil, for you are with me; your rod and your staff, they comfort me.

I seem to be doing more funerals as the years mount – and more of the deceased are friends and family. Not too long ago I celebrated four funerals in a five-day period. It is an honor to help families celebrate the life of a loved one. Many of the funerals I celebrate are from folks in our community – folks I have not had a previous chance to minister to or with – and I just try to bring them a measure of comfort for the short time I have with them. I usually talk with them on the phone and meet them on the day of the service. I often read the 23rd Psalm at the service. It is a familiar passage – and if not – it is a comforting passage.

I love this part of the 23rd Psalm – Psalm 23:4Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil, for you are with me; your rod and your staff, they comfort me.

One of the great hopes and blessings of our faith is that we do not have to fear death. I can usually tell people of faith versus people will little or no faith when I share at funerals. The way we face death is telling. Even as I write today’s devotional – late I might add – I received word that a long time friend and a member of the church I currently served – just lost her brother. We have been praying for him – as he battles with cancer. Maybe because of the cancer or the treatments – his heart gave out. I’m praying for the family – even as I type.

People of faith face death differently. I am not saying that people of faith do not cry or mourn or grieve. We all face the loss of a loved one differently. But – there is a hope – a peace – for those of faith – especially when the loved one was also a person of faith. They realize that death is not the end – but rather a gateway – a doorway – into eternity. Such a death is what my family has faced a number of times over the recent years with the passing of all four of our parents – both mine and my wife’s. The last to pass was my wife’s mom. She was a woman who loved Jesus. She wasn’t always outward about her faith – but she lived it. She loved her local church family and served well in it. She helped us raise our three daughters and poured into their lives. They all are who they are today – partly – because of mom.

Having God with us brings such peace. At the end of a number of the Epistles we read something like this:

2 Timothy 4:22 – The Lord be with your spirit. Grace be with you.

Or – something like this in the midst of teachings about God’s presence in our lives:

Romans 8:31b – If God is for us, who can be against us?

We will all face death – of our loved ones or our own. We do not have to face it with fear – we can have confidence and assurance that – Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil, for you are with me; your rod and your staff, they comfort me.

Just something for us to think about today as we go on our way.

May 23, 2024 - Posted by | Build, Church, Community, Daily Devotion, Discipleship, Encouragement, Evangelism, Faith Journey, Family, From the Pastor, Leadership, Outreach, Personal, Theology | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.