Ray McDonald's Blog

Devotional Thoughts

His Only Son!

Romans 8:32

He who did not spare his own Son, but gave him up for us all — how will he not also, along with him, graciously give us all things?

Easter comes once a year – even if we should celebrate Easter every Sunday or even every day. Yet – we don’t have to limit our joy to that one day – do we? If your family is like mine – when we gather for Easter – for the family gathering – we usually end up talking about life and the blessings of that life. It is always a touching time – and watching our family age before our eyes – year after year. It brings a nostalgic note too. Listening to what the girls have shared over the years and now what the grandchildren will share has been and is a blessing. We are always thankful for the way God touches our lives and the joy we feel being together.

I’m the crier in the family (one daughter is starting to show my emotions as well). An example of my inability to hold back my tears can be seen in most any family gathering. I remember at a special birthday for my wife in recent years – as others were sharing – I tried to share my heart and the tears flowed. Tears will flow for most any reason from my eyes. I will shed tears when I watch It’s a Wonderful Life for the 200th time – and even while watching certain episodes of The Andy Griffith Show – tears will flow.

Easter – 4th of July – Birthdays – Thanksgiving – Christmas – are all family time for our family – and we will gather once again – the Lord willing. Holidays and special days are especially hard for me now that mom and dad have gone to be with Jesus – along with my father & mother-in-law. Our parents loved the holidays and family times. We must keep making them special for ur children and grands.

So – it should come as no surprise that I shed tears over passages like this one when I read it. Romans 8:32 – He who did not spare his own Son, but gave him up for us all – how will he not also, along with him, graciously give us all things?

As my children age before my eyes and now the grandchildren – I often reflect on the love it took for the Father to offer up HIS ONLY SON for my sins. I often say how much I love the folks at Trinity Church – one of my home churches. I also love the folks from Mt. Zion – First Church – and people from the other places I have lived and served. Having stated that – I must admit – I wouldn’t offer up any of my three daughters or soon to be eight grandchildren for any of you. My love for them exceeds my love for you or anyone else here on earth. Yet – the Father’s love was so great – that He offered up HIS ONLY SON for me – and for you. That brings a tear to my eyes – knowing that God loves me – me – the sinner that I am – with such a great love.

The first thing I am thankful for today – the thing that brings me joy – is my salvation – a free gift from a loving God – given to a sinful me. I also thank God for my wife – my three daughters – and my soon to be eight grandchildren. I’m also thankful for the three godly men in the lives of my daughters.

What are you thankful for today – what brings you joy (remember – Happiness is circumstantially driven – why Joy is spiritually derived)? Go to Facebook where this devotional will post and leave a note about what you are thankful for today and each day. You can also simply use this blog post and leave what you are thankful for as a reply today! I wonder what you are thankful for today – what brings you joy? As we move away from Easter and toward the next holiday – maybe – if we begin today thinking of what we are thankful for – we will have a nice list for our family meal at our next gathering.

He did not spare HIS ONLY SON the passage says – and if He loves us that much – would He withhold any blessing from us? God wants to bless our socks off – my friends. Most of the time – all He asks is that we love Him back – live our lives for Him – obey Him – because we have been bought and paid for by the shed blood of HIS ONLY SON. Give thanks today for our God who loves us so much.

Just something for us to think about today as we go on our way.

April 18, 2024 - Posted by | Build, Christmas, Church, Community, Daily Devotion, Discipleship, Encouragement, Evangelism, Faith Journey, Family, From the Pastor, Leadership, Marriage, Personal | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. My new puppy, Deacon

    Like

    Comment by Angie Peterman Ponatoski | April 18, 2024 | Reply


Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.