Ray McDonald's Blog

Devotional Thoughts

Having a Little Fun

1 Corinthians 9:24

Do you not know that in a race all the runners run, but only one gets the prize? Run in such a way as to get the prize.

The baseball season is about to begin. Carolyn and I spent a few days in Sarasota this spring – watching our favorite MLB team – the Baltimore Orioles. It was something I always wanted to do – so for my birthday – we went down. Carolyn planned 90% of the trip and she did a wonderful job. Our accommodations were amazing.

Is there something you’ve always wanted to do? This was one of mine. With the baseball season just around the corner – I thought we could have a little fun. Please take the poll included in this devotional post. Pick your favorite baseball team. I’ve included most of the local teams. If I didn’t pick your team – there is a selection for you and you can post your favorite team in the comments.

Today’s passage is very familiar. Here it is in partial context. 1 Corinthians 9:24–27 – 24 Do you not know that in a race all the runners run, but only one gets the prize? Run in such a way as to get the prize. 25 Everyone who competes in the games goes into strict training. They do it to get a crown that will not last, but we do it to get a crown that will last forever. 26 Therefore I do not run like someone running aimlessly; I do not fight like a boxer beating the air. 27 No, I strike a blow to my body and make it my slave so that after I have preached to others, I myself will not be disqualified for the prize.

I believe Paul was making a reference to the Olympics here – how athletes prepare themselves for their event – to run the race – to fight in the arena – to win the prize – to win their event. He reminds us that we should prepare ourselves for our walk with the Lord as well. He writes about his spiritual discipline and how he prepares – constantly – to run the race to please God.

The athlete runs the race to win a temporary prize – while living for Jesus – we receive eternal life. My prayer today – even as we have a little fun – is that each of us will keep our eyes on Jesus. EVERYTHING else is temporary! Jesus is eternal!

So – we went to spring training – and saw this year’s version of the Baltimore Orioles coming together. The players are trying hard to train and prepare to make the team – and to win this coming season. They are young and in great shape and have visions of winning – like they did last year. Our hope is for them to have another great season. So – which team are you rooting for this year? Pick your favorite team in our poll.

Thanks for taking the poll. Come back to see the results. I hope your team brings you enjoyment this year. I also pray that we walk the walk and seek after Jesus more and more this year.

Just something for us to think about today as we go on our way!

March 14, 2024 - Posted by | Build, Church, Community, Daily Devotion, Discipleship, Encouragement, Evangelism, Faith Journey, Family, From the Pastor, Leadership, Lenten Thought, Personal, Theology | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. Im not really an Oriole fan but would like to see them win a series…be great if it was a beltway series ….I prefer Football….baseball too slow!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    Comment by Carol | March 14, 2024 | Reply


Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.