Ray McDonald's Blog

Devotional Thoughts

Trust In The Lord

Psalm 40:4

Blessed is the one who trusts in the Lord, who does not look to the proud, to those who turn aside to false gods.

Who do we trust? In what do we place our trust?

Who do we trust? In whom do we place our trust? It might be a parent or a spouse. It might be a co-worker – employee – or employer. It might be a long-time friend. In the military or in law enforcement – they train to trust the person to their right or left – the person covering their rear. My father spoke about his time in the Navy and how they trained to trust one another. One of my daughters has been trained in law enforcement – and the same can be said. I’ve been married for nearly 44 years – and I trust my wife with my life (I told her how much life insurance I have on my life – and she hasn’t tried to collect yet). I also have siblings I trust.

In what do we place our trust? Have any of us every climbed a ladder? I don’t like heights – but – I’ve been on tall ladders and even on the roof of my house. I had to place my trust in the ladder and in my shoes and in my knees. I’ve also climbed into trees and strapped myself into a deer stand and trusted the rig so much – I would fall asleep at times (I woke once to a deer under my stand – and quietly pulled back my bow and got her). My new car has so many safety devices – it will drive itself on the highway and will stop the car before some accidents (my insurance was actually less with these features). It will also alarm me if I close my eyes or take my eyes off the road.

I hate to bring us some bad news – but every person we trust and every device we place our trust in – has the possibility of failing us. I’ve heard of persons falling from tree stands because their strap broke or their stand collapsed. I’ve heard of spouse failing their partner (have you heard about the divorce rate?). I’ve heard of politicians and religious leaders who have gone astray. I’ve heard of persons and devices that people put their trust in – failing!

Here’s today’s passage in partial context. Psalm 40:1–5 – 1 I waited patiently for the Lord; he turned to me and heard my cry. He lifted me out of the slimy pit, out of the mud and mire; he set my feet on a rock and gave me a firm place to stand. He put a new song in my mouth, a hymn of praise to our God. Many will see and fear the Lord and put their trust in him. 4 Blessed is the one who trusts in the Lord, who does not look to the proud, to those who turn aside to false gods. Many, Lord my God, are the wonders you have done, the things you planned for us. None can compare with you; were I to speak and tell of your deeds, they would be too many to declare.

God will never fail us and will always be with us. God declares – He will never leave us nor forsake us. Hebrews 13:5 – Keep your lives free from the love of money and be content with what you have, because God has said, “Never will I leave you; never will I forsake you.” 

We can trust others and we can trust things – to a degree – but ultimately – our trust should be in the Lord. People and things can and will at times – fail us. But God will never fail us! Put your trust in the Lord!

Just something to think about today as we go on our way!

April 4, 2024 - Posted by | Build, Church, Community, Daily Devotion, Discipleship, Encouragement, Evangelism, Faith Journey, Family, From the Pastor, Leadership, Marriage, Outreach, Personal, Theology | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.