Ray McDonald's Blog

Devotional Thoughts

What Are Your Essential Doctrines?

John 7:16–17

16 Jesus answered, My teaching is not my own. It comes from the one who sent me. 17 Anyone who chooses to do the will of God will find out whether my teaching comes from God or whether I speak on my own.

IMG_0301

What are the essentials of your faith – the essential doctrines? With so many denominations around and non-denominational churches too to attend – is doctrine an important part of your choice or not?  If you are United Methodist – what is the reason?  If you are Roman Catholic – why?  If you attend a non-denominational church – is the church’s doctrine the reason?  Why do we attend the church we attend?  Is doctrine a part of that decision?

If having a Biblically based church is high on your priority list – what doctrines would be essential for you to have fellowship with a church family?  Sunday we talked about the essentials in a life-partner.  The three I shared with my daughters – while they were growing up – was to find a man who loved Jesus – a man who loves them – and a man who has a good work ethic.  So what would be your three essential doctrines?

For some the list might be short and for others it might be long – but let’s start with three. If you say a doctrine is essential for you – how about saying why?

Today’s passage reminds us that His teaching came from God – not from His own words (as Jesus the human man).  John 7:16–17 – 16 Jesus answered, My teaching is not my own. It comes from the one who sent me. 17 Anyone who chooses to do the will of God will find out whether my teaching comes from God or whether I speak on my own.  Are your doctrines based on how you feel or think or on your understanding of the Word of God?

Let the blogging begin!

August 6, 2015 - Posted by | Church, Community, Daily Devotion, Denomination, Discipleship, Encouragement, Evangelism, Faith Journey, From the Pastor, Leadership, Outreach, Personal, Sermons, Theology | , , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. I’ll feel comfortable in any church that preaches and teaches the Bible without omission or alteration.

    Like

    Comment by Gretiana | August 6, 2015 | Reply


Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.