Ray McDonald's Blog

Devotional Thoughts

Our Prayer Life – So Essential!

Psalm 5:3

In the morning, O Lord, you hear my voice; in the morning I lay my requests before you and wait in expectation.

82015 RayI’ve asked this question before and I’ll continue to ask it – How’s our prayer life?  I mean it!  When do we spend time in prayer?  How long do we spend in prayer?  What do we mention in our prayers?

The Psalmist writes: In the morning, O Lord, you hear my voice; in the morning I lay my requests before you and wait in expectation.

If we don’t have a regular prayer time or devotion time – try what the Psalmist mentions and spend time in the morning – first thing.  I know it is tough for some.  If you are a single mom and you have children to get ready for school before you go to work – it might be tough finding even 5 minutes to sit before the Lord.  If you rise at 4 or 5 am to go to work – turning over for that last 5 minutes – hitting snooze on your alarm can be the best few moments.  But I believe if we made it a habit (not all habits are bad) to spend even just 5 minutes first thing in the morning before God we would shortly notice the difference in our day. Continue reading

November 6, 2015 Posted by | Build, Church, Community, Daily Devotion, Daily Prayer, Discipleship, Encouragement, Evangelism, Faith Journey, Family, From the Pastor, Leadership, Outreach, Personal, Prayer, Theology | , , , , , | Leave a comment