Ray McDonald's Blog

Devotional Thoughts

Love Is The Key

Deuteronomy 6:5

And you must love the Lord your God with all your heart, all your soul, and all your strength.

Life ChangeLove is a core value in the Christian faith. Showing love to one another is a significant characteristic of our Christian walk – or at least it is supposed to be. I believe that love seems to be missing from our society these days and also from many who claim to follow Christ. Some folks who claim to be Christians – like some politicians today – tend to take sides on issues and show anything but love to those who disagree. Like some – we tend to forget that even when we disagree – we should show love. We should be able to disagree without being disagreeable.

I created a song for my grandchildren. I sing it with them whenever they’re here or at times on FaceTime. It goes like this – I love Pop, Pop loves me, and that’s the way it’s going to be! (Repeat until we get tired of singing it.) If I have written it before (and I know I have) – I just love being a Pop. I love my grand-children – five now with another on the way soon from South Korea! I love showing them how much I love them – by giving them my focus when they are around. I didn’t always do that with my children. I want to be a better Pop than I was a Dad.

In Christ we are called to love others – even as we love ourselves. Jesus was asked what were the greatest commandments – and part of His response is to love our neighbors – those around us – even as we love ourselves. Matthew 22:39 – And the second is like it: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’

But the greatest commandment – as recorded in today’s passage – is to love God – with our all. Deuteronomy 6:5 – And you must love the Lord your God with all your heart, all your soul, and all your strength. It is found in Matthew 22:37-38 – 37 Jesus replied: “ ‘Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind.’  38 This is the first and greatest commandment.

How much do we love God? Do we love God with our all? Do we love God more than we love ourselves? Do we love God more than any other? How do we show our love to God? Do we say we love God – but fail to follow through with our actions? Jesus said – John 14:15 – If you love me, keep my commands. How well are we keeping the commandments of God? How do we think our obedience to God is revealing our love for God? Are we walking the talk?

My prayer today is that we will strive to love God with our all and that we will strive to show that love by being obedient to His commands. Saying we love God and not following through with obedience might be empty words. What do you think?  Let’s show God our love by our obedience to His Word – His Commandments. While showing love to God – let us also show love to one another – even to those we disagree with on issues.

As I read discussions on social media – where people differ with one another – even on what is God’s will – our understanding of the Scriptures – I often see a lack of love. We often express ourselves in ways that do not exhibit love. We often think it is our way or the highway and – even if we are right – we should do so in love. Do those we disagree with feel loved? Do those who don’t somehow measure up to whatever standard we hold – feel loved?

Just something for us to think about today as we go on our way.

May 9, 2019 - Posted by | Build, Church, Community, Daily Devotion, Daily Prayer, Discipleship, Encouragement, Faith Journey, Family, From the Pastor, Leadership, Outreach, Personal, Theology | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. As I look at the ministry of Jesus on earth, I see that he spoke the truth and loved his fiercest critics by engaging them on the issues. He berated them, called them names, scattered their coins and overturned tables. He promised a coming Judgment. When the rich young man made excuses about following him, Jesus did not dissemble and offer a compromise. Jesus warned his generation about resembling the generation of Noah and called them back to righteousness and faithfulness. Yes, Jesus called us to love everyone, but even he said their should be a turnaround, for example, forgiving the woman taken in adultery, but then calling him to “go, sin no more.” Love needs healthy boundaries. Thanks for another thoughtful post, Ray.

    Like

    Comment by Favorite Son | May 9, 2019 | Reply


Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.