Ray McDonald's Blog

Devotional Thoughts

I Have Fought the Good Fight

2 Timothy 4:7

I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race, I have kept the faith.

One of the things I do as a pastor – is to encourage the Saints of Christ in their final days. I have done more funerals than I’d like to count – losing some dear friends along the way. Along with being blessed and called upon to help folks in their last days or hours – I’m also called to encourage and guide the rest of us. We do not know when those last days and hours will come for us. We need to be ready – for it could come at any time.

I came to believe in Jesus Christ as a 12 year old. Oh – I was raised in a Christian home and would have told you – before 12 – that I was a Christian – but my faith was based upon my parent’s faith and my upbringing in the church. It wasn’t until a revival – the summer when I was 12 years old (57 years ago) – that my faith became personal and mine. I went to the altar and accepted Jesus Christ as my Lord and Savior. I asked the evangelist to pray over me after the service – because I felt a tug on my heart to do so.

I’d like to say – as I often say – that I have been faithful ever since. But – that would not be true. I have faltered – and sinned – many times and in ways I am ashamed of for sure. I often remind Bible study groups to not take grace for granted. Paul wrote the following after teaching about grace in Romans 5Romans 6:1–2 – 1 What shall we say, then? Shall we go on sinning so that grace may increase? By no means! We are those who have died to sin; how can we live in it any longer? Although grace can cover all our sins – we are not to sin all the more so that grace can abound! We are called – once we accept Jesus as our Lord and Savior – to go and sin no more.

Jesus’ half-brother Jude – James’ brother as well – wrote his Epistle (letter) to new Christians – urging them to contend for the faith and to not be taken away from the truth they had been taught. Evil people were trying to pervert the truth that had led them to Jesus. Jude urges them to stand strong and remain faithful. We see such perversions of the truth today in our churches and denominations. We must stand for the truths found in the Bible – God’s Holy Word.

Paul makes a bold statement in today’s passage. But first – we must remind you of another passage from one of Paul’s writings. This passage is what gives me such hope that God can use even me. 1 Timothy 1:15–16 – 15 Here is a trustworthy saying that deserves full acceptance: Christ Jesus came into the world to save sinners—of whom I am the worst. 16 But for that very reason I was shown mercy so that in me, the worst of sinners, Christ Jesus might display his immense patience as an example for those who would believe in him and receive eternal life.

Paul – even with all of his flaws – saw himself as an example of what God can do with grace. In today’s passage – he is nearing the end of this life and lifts his eyes to glory. Here is today’s passage in partial context – 2 Timothy 4:6–8 – 6 For I am already being poured out like a drink offering, and the time for my departure is near. 7 I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race, I have kept the faith. 8 Now there is in store for me the crown of righteousness, which the Lord, the righteous Judge, will award to me on that day—and not only to me, but also to all who have longed for his appearing.

I pray – when my days are coming to an end – even with all of my flaws and sins – I will be able to say – like Paul – in some small way – I have fought the good fight – I have finished the race that God set before me – I have kept the faith.

Just something for us to think about today as we go on our way!

March 5, 2024 - Posted by | Build, Church, Community, Daily Devotion, Daily Prayer, Denomination, Discipleship, Encouragement, Evangelism, Faith Journey, Family, From the Pastor, Holy Spirit, Leadership, Outreach, Personal, Prayer, Theology | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.