Ray McDonald's Blog

Devotional Thoughts

How Far Is Too Far?

Psalm 11:3

…while we wait for the blessed hope—the appearing of the glory of our great God and Savior, Jesus Christ,

This week – I’m shamed to say – a UMC clergy person gave the opening prayer for congress and besides offering prayers to all sorts of idols and fake gods – closed his prayer with amen and awoman. I couldn’t believe that someone would go that far to fit into the politically correct crowd. I couldn’t believe that someone would be so ignorant of what amen means (uttered at the end of a prayer or hymn – meaning so be it) that they would turn it into a PC statement. How far with the left – the progressives go? Are there no truths for them? Are there no absolutes?

One of my favorite all-time shows is The Andy Griffith show. I grew up watching Andy – Opie – Barney – Aunt Bea and the Mayberry crowd. Times were good and even the unchurched were fairly moral people and they had good values in Mayberry. The setting for this show was the late 50’s and early 60’s – just a few states south of us. I’m not suggesting we could ever return to these times – nor should we strive to for sure – but it was a time when absolutes were accepted – even among the unchurched. Oh – there were things wrong – and they were not perfect – but their preacher would never end a prayer with amen and awoman.

I wish that the troubles Opie had would be the troubles our youth would get into today. Unfortunately – our youth – and our society as a whole – are far beyond the sins of Mayberry (and Mayberry wasn’t perfect for sure). Our communities used to resemble Mayberry’s morals and values. I can remember growing up near here. As a matter of fact – I can remember watching Mayberry as a child – and thinking my world was like this show. How did we get to the place we are today? How have we become so corrupt and sinful as a society (and church at times – watch the news to see my point)? It seems that there are some in our society today that are trying to call sin – acceptable. They are trying to change established truths. I know – much about us needs to change – and over time – much has changed – but I ask – are there no absolutes?

Continue reading

January 6, 2021 Posted by | Church, Community, Daily Devotion, Denomination, Discipleship, Encouragement, Evangelism, Faith Journey, Family, From the Pastor, Leadership, Marriage, Outreach, Personal, Prayer, Sermons, Theology | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment